Library Print Header Include
University of Central Florida Libraries
11/22/2009
http://library.ucf.edu/
UCF Website University of Central Florida Libraries
Log in now
Ask a Librarian Articles & Databases Online Journals Off-campus Access Interlibrary Loan

Articles - All Education Topics

This is a list of some of the basic databases to find resources for your subject. There are a number of very extensive guides on doing research in Education such as Education Journals, Education Web Sites, Government Documents for Education, Guide for Sports and Fitness Education. You may also want to consult the main page of Guides for Education, or check out Online Reference Sources for Education

Section Headings List

Books- Books. Brief Information- Brief Information. Citations or Abstracts- Citations or Abstracts. Data- Data. Full Text- Full Text. Government Resources- Government Resources. Journals- Journals. Top-pick- Top-pick. Webpage- Webpage.

Articles

Education Full Text 1983-Current Citations or Abstracts Full Text

Encompasses all areas of concern to today's educators, including administration, teaching methods, and curriculum.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Wilson

Full text of 19 journals,Subject coverage includes: Adult and Continuing Education, Assessment, Multilingual Education, Content Areas, Curriculum, Early Childhood Education, Educational Administration, Educational Policy, Educational Psychology, Elementary and Primary Education, Family and Community, High School and Secondary Education, Higher Education, International Education, Leadership, Measurement and Testing, Middle School Education, Multicultural Education and Diversity, Philosophy of Education, Professional Development, Research Methods and Evaluation, School Counseling, School Finance and Budgeting, School Funding, School Health, School Law, School Reform, Special Education and Gifted Education, Standards, Teaching and Instruction, Teaching Methods, Technology, Theory of Education, and Vocational Education.

Access: Proxy Vendor: CSA

Abstracts selected for their relevance to international educational research, educational technology, multicultural education, higher education, organisation and management, sociology of education, special needs and technical education and training.

Access: Proxy Vendor: T&F
ERIC - CSA 1966-Current Citations or Abstracts

ERIC is available from several database vendors. UCF students are advised to use ERIC in EBSCOhost, which provides many links to full text and allows users to search multiple education databases simultaneously. Users who are not UCF students are advised to use ERIC from DOE because no login is required.

Access: Proxy Vendor: CSA

The most complete index to articles and reports on educational topics.

UCF students are advised to use ERIC from EBSCOhost for the easiest access to full text and other education databases.

Access: Free Vendor: Dept. of Education
Top-pick ERIC - EBSCOhost 1966-Current Books Citations or Abstracts Full Text Government Resources Journals

ERIC is most complete index to articles and reports on educational topics.

ERIC is available from several database vendors. UCF students are advised to use ERIC in EBSCOhost, which provides many links to full text and allows users to search multiple education databases simultaneously. Users who are not UCF students are advised to use ERIC from DOE because no login is required.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCO

Education descriptors used in ERIC.

Use the Look Up feature on the Search Wizard to see the terms, definitions, and arrays of related terms to help the searcher to pinpoint the desired concept.

Access: Free Vendor: ERIC

CSA Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences.

Covers phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics as well as descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics.

Access: Proxy Vendor: CSA

Primary government agency for collecting and analyzing educational data for the U.S. and its comparison to those of other countries.

Access: Free Vendor: NCES

Provides a highly specialized collection of hundreds of full text journals, designed for professional educators.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCO

A database of more than 16,000 chapters in PDF from over 1,000 books published by APA and other distinguished publishers.

The database includes most scholarly titles published by APA from copyright years 1953 - 2005.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost
PsycInfo 1887-Current Citations or Abstracts

Covers scholarly literature in all aspects of psychology and related fields.

Materials are selected from more than 1,300 journals published in 50 countries and 28 languages.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost
Sociological Abstracts 1963-Current Citations or Abstracts

Sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.

Includes information from an international selection of over 2,600 journals and other serials publications, plus conference papers, books, and dissertations.

Access: Proxy Vendor: CSA

Collects, screens, and identifies studies of the effectiveness of educational interventions. By DOE.

Access: Free

Supplemental and Related Databases

Articles on business-related disciplines and over 60,000 companies.

Covers advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, and computers. Includes business conditions, trends, corporate strategies and tactics, management techniques, competitive and product information, company histories and new product development.

Access: Proxy Vendor: ProQuest

Indexing and full text of articles for array of scholarly and popular topics.

Provides full text for over 3,460 scholarly journals covering the social sciences, humanities, science, cultural studies, education, and much more.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCO
AgeLine 1978-Current Citations or Abstracts

Detailed summaries of more than 90,000 publications about aging and the 50+ population. See also the AgeLine Thesaurus.

Indexes journal content related to social, psychological, health-related, and economic aspects of aging. Produced by the American Association of Retired Persons. Abstracts, 1978+ with selected coverage back to 1966. Indexes the SCAN Microfiche Collection (1966-1982) in UCF Government Documents, which provides approximately 4,000 microfiche documents distributed by the U.S. Administration on Aging in the late 1970s and early 1980s.

Access: Proxy Vendor: AARP

Indexes 1,300 leading arts and humanities journals.

Access: Proxy Vendor: ISI

Citations to biographies published in books, magazines, and journals.

Cites more than 2,700 periodicals and 1,800 books, including individual and collective biographies, as well as juvenile literature.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Wilson

Biography Resource Center combines Gale biographies with related full-text articles from magazines and newspapers, thousands images, and links to vetted websites.

People included are from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas. Search by name, birth and death years and places, nationality, ethnicity, occupation or gender. List of Sources included,such as the Dictionary of American Biography.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Gale

Citations to articles in business and related fields.

Covers management, economics, finance, banking, investment, and related fields. Full text included for nearly 260 journals.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCO

Indexing and full text of to U.S. dissertations and thesis.

Search by author, title, school, year, and discipline. Full text available for most dissertations granted from 1997 forward. From 1980 forward, citations include a 350-word abstract. Citations for master's theses from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts.

Access: Proxy Vendor: ProQuest

Indexing and full text of news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics.

Covers business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Gale

Full text of news and legal sources, as well as company and industry data. LexisNexis Academic Research Guide

Limited coverage of business and health administration news. Sources include newspapers, wire services, magazines, SEC filings, law cases, state and federal codes, law review journals, and reference works.

Access: Proxy Vendor: LexisNexis

Indexes statistical publications and some full text.

Includes:

  • Statistical Abstract of the United States.
  • American Statistics Index (ASI) 1974-
  • Statistical Reference Index (SRI) 1980-
  • Index to International Statistics (IIS) 1983-

The UCF Library has the full text of some ASI, SRI, and IIS reports in print or microfiche. Tips for Searching.

Access: Proxy Vendor: LexisNexis
OmniFile Full Text 1982-Current Citations or Abstracts Full Text

Multi-disciplinary source for citations and full text articles.

Includes the complete content from six Wilson database:

  • Business Index Full Text
  • Education Full Text
  • General Science Full Text
  • Humanities Full Text
  • Readers' Guide
  • Social Sciences Full Text

Access: Proxy Vendor: Wilson

Full text of Oxford University Press journals covering a variety of disciplines.

  • Humanities
  • Law
  • Life Sciences
  • Mathematics & Physical Sciences
  • Medicine
  • Social Sciences

Access: Proxy Vendor: OUP

Science Citation Index Expanded is a multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the sciences.

Access: Proxy Vendor: ISI

The Social Sciences Citation Index is a multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the social sciences.

Access: Proxy Vendor: ISI

Full text of Springer's scholarly journals, covering a variety of disciplines including Architecture and Design, Behavioral Science, Biomedical and Life Sciences, Business and Economics, Chemistry and Materials Science, Computer Science, Earth and Environmental Science, Engineering, Humanities, Social Sciences and Law, Mathematics and Statistics, Medicine, Physics and Astronomy, and Professional Computing and Web Design.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Springer
Synergy 1998-Current Full Text Journals

Full text journals across several disciplines.

Disciplines include:

  • Business, Economics, Finance and Accounting
  • Construction, Engineering, Computing and Technology
  • Health Sciences
  • Humanities
  • Law and Criminology
  • Life and Physical Sciences
  • Mathematics and Statistics
  • Medicine
  • Social and Behavioral Sciences
  • The Arts
  • Veterinary Medicine, Animal Sciences, Agriculture and Aquaculture

Access: Proxy Vendor: Blackwell

ISI databases, including the Citation Indexes. New Search Interface

Databases include:

  • Science Citation Index
  • Social Science Citation Index
  • Arts & Humanities Citation Index
  • BIOSIS Previews
  • MEDLINE
  • Zoological Record

Access: Proxy Vendor: ISI

Full text of Wiley's scholarly journals covering a variety of disciplines.

Disciplines include:

  • Business
  • Chemistry
  • Computer Science
  • Earth and Environmental Science
  • Education
  • Engineering
  • Law
  • Life Sciences
  • Mathematics and Statistics
  • Medicine and Healthcare
  • Physics and Astronomy
  • Polymers and Materials Science
  • Psychology
  • Social Sciences

Access: Proxy Vendor: Wiley

Catalog of library collections from the U.S. and around the world.

The world's most comprehensive bibliography, with 36 million records for books and material in 370 languages and covering information from 4,000 years of knowledge.

Access: Proxy Vendor: FirstSearch

 

Last Updated September 09, 2008