University of Central Florida Libraries
2/9/2012
http://library.ucf.edu/
UCF Website University of Central Florida Libraries
Log in now

Instructional Technology/Media

Sections

Icon Key

  • Books Books.
  • Citations or Abstracts Citations or Abstracts.
  • Full Text Full Text.
  • Government Resources Government Resources.
  • Images Images.
  • Journals Journals.
  • Top-pick Top-pick.
  • Webpage Webpage.

*Best Resources

Education Full Text 1983-Current Citations or Abstracts Full Text

Education Full Text brings you comprehensive coverage of an international range of English-language periodicals, monographs and yearbooks. Full text of articles, with indexing cover to cover, from hundreds of journals, make this a one-stop source for research. Coverage includes about 79 journals (37 with full text) not covered by ERIC’s CIJE. Previous vendor was Wilson.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCO
Top-pick ERIC - EBSCOhost 1966-Current Books Citations or Abstracts Full Text Government Resources Journals Top-pick

ERIC is most complete index to articles and reports on educational topics.

ERIC is available from several database vendors. UCF students are advised to use ERIC in EBSCOhost, which provides many links to full text and allows users to search multiple education databases simultaneously. Users who are not UCF students are advised to use ERIC from DOE because no login is required.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCO

provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracting of over 400 journals, including key library and information science periodicals, and full-text coverage of over 170 journals. Subjects include automation, cataloging, censorship, circulation procedures, classification, copyright legislation, government aid, library associations and conferences, library equipment and supplies, personnel administration, preservation of materials, and more. Coverage reaches as far back as 1980. Previous vendor was Wilson.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCO

Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCO

Additional Resources for Graduate Students

Indexing and full text of to U.S. dissertations and thesis. Search by author, title, school, year, and discipline. Full text available for most dissertations granted from 1997 forward. From 1980 forward, citations include a 350-word abstract. Citations for master's theses from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. old interface.

Access: Proxy Vendor: ProQuest
Web of Science 1965-current Citations or Abstracts

Citation Indexes for finding articles that cite a given author or citation.

  • Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present)
  • Science Citation Index Expanded (1965-present)
  • Social Sciences Citation Index (1965-present)

Access: Proxy Vendor: ISI

Catalog of library collections from the U.S. and around the world.

The world's most comprehensive bibliography, with 36 million records for books and material in 370 languages and covering information from 4,000 years of knowledge.

Access: Proxy Vendor: FirstSearch

Other Resources

Offers directories of schools and colleges by district and name along with press releases, publications, statistics, and employment opportunities. By Florida DOE.

Access: Free

Full text of 1000+ core research journals from the year of their inception, many dating back to the early 1900's, JSTOR offers researchers the ability to retrieve high-resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated.

Access: Proxy Vendor: JSTOR

this database contains full text for more than 500 popular, high school magazines; also provides more than 360 full text reference books, 85,639 biographies, 104,481 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of 285,912 photos, maps & flags, color PDFs and expanded full text backfiles (back to 1975) for key magazines.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCO

full text for 140+ magazines covering general topics appropriate for middle and jr. high school students

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCO
OmniFile Full Text 1982-Current Citations or Abstracts Full Text

Multi-disciplinary source for citations and full text articles. Previous vendor was Wilson.

Includes the complete content from six Wilson database:

  • Business Index Full Text
  • Education Full Text
  • General Science Full Text
  • Humanities Full Text
  • Readers' Guide
  • Social Sciences Full Text

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCO
Primary Search 1990-Current Citations or Abstracts Full Text

Indexing and full text of magazines appropriate for elementary schools and childrenÂ’s reading rooms.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCO

Provides a highly specialized collection of hundreds of full text journals, designed for professional educators.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCO

Reports policies on federal financial aid for education, collects and disseminates research, focuses national attention on key educational issues, and promotes equal access to education. By the DOE.

Access: Free

 

Last Updated February 03, 2012

QR Code URL for Mobile Devices