University of Central Florida Libraries
5/16/2012
http://library.ucf.edu/
UCF Website University of Central Florida Libraries
Log in now

Biographies

Sections

Icon Key

  • Books Books.
  • Citations or Abstracts Citations or Abstracts.
  • Data Data.
  • Full Text Full Text.
  • Images Images.
  • Journals Journals.
  • Top-pick Top-pick.
  • Webpage Webpage.

This is a list of some of the basic databases to find resources for your subject. For a more extensive guide to doing Biographical Research please see the Biography Research Guide

*Best Resources

Enables users to locate biographical entries contained in more than 1,000 volumes and editions of important current and retrospective biographical reference sources.

References 12.7 million biographical sketches in more than 3,400 current and retrospective reference books, covering contemporary and historical figures throughout the world.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Gale

Biography Resource Center combines Gale biographies with related full-text articles from magazines and newspapers, thousands images, and links to vetted websites.
People included are from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas. Search by name, birth and death years and places, nationality, ethnicity, occupation or gender. List of Sources included,such as the Dictionary of American Biography.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Gale

Wilson's largest biography database has combined the in-depth, original profiles of Wilson Biographies Plus Illustrated, plus the thorough periodicals coverage of Biography Index, full-text articles, page images, and abstracts from the complete range of Wilson databases (including biographical profiles, feature articles, interviews, essays, book reviews, performance reviews, speeches, or obituaries).. It covers over 500,000 people and includes over 36,000 images.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Ebsco

Other Resources

Biographies of over 30,000 African-Americans from Chadwyck-Healey’s acclaimed Black Biographical Dictionaries 1790-1950.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Chadwyck-Healy

Featuring retrospective coverage from Biography Index back to its first publication in 1946, it combines retrospective coverage with current indexing to produce a comprehensive biographical resource for students, scholars, media professionals, book clubs, and all researchers seeking biographical information. Previous vendor was Wilson.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCO

Short biographical information from these famous Marquis Who's Who series: Who's Who in America, Who's Who in the World, Who's Who in American History, Who's Who in American Art,and Who's Who in American Politics.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Marquis

 

Last Updated April 20, 2012

QR Code URL for Mobile Devices