University of Central Florida Libraries
11/23/2014
http://library.ucf.edu/
UCF Website University of Central Florida Libraries
Login now

Biology

Sections

Icon Key

  • Citations or Abstracts Citations or Abstracts.
  • Full Text Full Text.
  • Journals Journals.

See also: Microbiology

*Best Resources

Indexing of life science and biomedical research literature. Also available on [Ovid http://library.ucf.edu/Web/purl.asp?pid=960] from 1985-2007.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost
Biological Sciences 1971-Current Citations or Abstracts Journals

Database offers abstracts and citations to a wide range of research in biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology and ecology, and some aspects of agriculture and veterinary science.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Proquest

Botany

Plant Science 1994-Current Citations or Abstracts

Plant Science is a bibliographic database containing citations and abstracts of scientific literature on plant science, focussing on all plant scientific aspects, especially on pathology, symbiosis, biochemistry, genetics, biotechnology, techniques and environmental biology.

Access: Proxy Vendor: ProQuest

Entomology

AGRICOLA 1970-Current Citations or Abstracts

AGRICOLA is a bibliographic database consisting of literature citations for journal articles, monographs, proceedings, theses, patents, translations, audiovisual materials, computer software, and technical reports pertaining to all aspects of agriculture.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Proquest
Entomology Abstracts 1981-Current Citations or Abstracts

From the most ancient fossilized forms to newly-discovered species, Entomology Abstracts gathers and summarizes all the latest information on millions of insects and insect-like species, for truly global coverage of the field.

Access: Proxy Vendor: ProQuest

Welcome to Florida Entomologist, the first long-published, refereed, natural science journal on the Internet.

Access: Free Vendor: FCLA
Access: Free Vendor: FCLA

Other Resources

This database separates out all the relevant studies in the literature of algae, fungi, protozoa, or lichens and organizes them in one source for easy reference. The scope of coverage includes reproduction, growth, life cycles, biochemistry, genetics and infection and immunity in man, other animals and plants.

Access: Proxy Vendor: ProQuest

Papers relevant to animal behavior, with subjects ranging from neurophysiology to behavioral ecology, from genetics to applied ethology, are covered.

Access: Proxy Vendor: ProQuest
Annual Reviews 1984-1996 Citations or Abstracts Full Text

Annual Reviews publishes authoritative, analytic reviews in 34 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Annual Reviews

All aspects of marine, freshwater and brackish water organisms and environments are examined, including information on biology and ecology of aquatic organisms, exploitation of living resources and related legal, policy and socioeconomic issues.

Access: Proxy Vendor: ProQuest

This specialized database specifically selects its widely dispersed aquaculture-related information by focusing on studies related to improving and augmenting aquatic yields.

Access: Proxy Vendor: ProQuest

A database that assembles the findings from investigations on increased production of seafood, in the development of new therapeutic drugs, in the engineering of microbes that digest and remove environmental and marine pollutants and in launching myriad ventures having immense economic benefit.

Access: Proxy Vendor: ProQuest

Topics ranging from bacterial immunology and vaccinations to diseases of man and animals, the database provides access to far-reaching clinical findings as well as all aspects of pure bacteriology, biochemistry, and genetics.

Access: Proxy Vendor: ProQuest

provides bibliographic coverage of ground-breaking research, applications, regulatory developments and new patents across all areas of biotechnology and bioengineering, including medical, pharmaceutical, agricultural, environmental and marine biology.

Access: Proxy Vendor: ProQuest

provides bibliographic coverage of ground-breaking research, applications, regulatory developments and new patents across all areas of biotechnology and bioengineering, including medical, pharmaceutical, agricultural, environmental and marine biology.

Access: Proxy Vendor: ProQuest

Indexes 226 key periodicals in the life sciences and agriculture includes current book reviews. The database includes abstracts and full text coverage for selected journals. Previous vendor was Wilson

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost
BioOne 2000-Current Citations or Abstracts

Full-texts of high-impact bioscience research journals, an innovative collaboration between scientific societies, libraries, academe and the private sector.

Access: Proxy Vendor: BioOne

A bibliographic database is an indexed and fully-searchable collection ofover 82 high-impact bioscience research journals from more than 66 publishers, abstracts that link to the fulltext articles available from the BioOne organization.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Proquest

Provides bibliographic coverage of ground-breaking research, applications, regulatory developments and new patents across all areas of biotechnology and bioengineering, including medical, pharmaceutical, agricultural, environmental and marine biology.

Access: Proxy Vendor: ProQuest

The basic component of the library is a 50- to 100-page "Lecture"; a self-contained electronic book that synthesizes an important research or development topic, authored by an expert in the field.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Morgan and Claypool

This database provides citations to papers and poster sessions presented at major scientific meetings around the world. Subject emphasis since 1995 has been in the life sciences, environmental sciences and the aquatic sciences, while older material also covers physics, engineering and materials science.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Proquest
Ecology Abstracts 1982-Current Citations or Abstracts

This database reflects recent advances in light of growing evidence regarding global environmental change and destruction. Included are relevant papers on evolutionary biology, economics and systems analysis as they relate to ecosystems or the environment.

Access: Proxy Vendor: ProQuest

This interdisciplinary database offers abstracts and citations to a wide range of research in biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology and ecology, and some aspects of agriculture and veterinary science. This database is no longer actively updated and is an archive only file.

Access: Proxy Vendor: ProQuest

Significant findings and practical applications in agricultural, food and beverage, chemical, and pharmaceutical industries are assembled in this journal,an indispensable resource for research laboratories and academic libraries.

Access: Proxy Vendor: ProQuest
MEDLINE - EBSCOhost 1966-Current Citations or Abstracts Full Text

MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine with the capability to search citations from over 5,400 current biomedical journals.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost

Readers will find detailed perspectives on innovative cloning and sequencing strategies.

Access: Proxy Vendor: ProQuest
Science Direct 1997-Current Full Text

Full text scientific, technical and medical research journals, eBooks, Reference works, handbooks and book series published by Elsevier.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Science Direct

Virology and AIDS Abstracts provides access to the literature on every aspect of virology in humans, animals, and plants with topics ranging from replication cycles to oncology to AIDS.

Access: Proxy Vendor: ProQuest
Web of Science 1965-current Citations or Abstracts

Citation Indexes for finding articles that cite a given author or citation.

  • Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present)
  • Science Citation Index Expanded (1965-present)
  • Social Sciences Citation Index (1965-present)

Access: Proxy Vendor: ISI

Full text of Wiley's scholarly journals covering a variety of disciplines.

Disciplines include:

  • Business
  • Chemistry
  • Computer Science
  • Earth and Environmental Science
  • Education
  • Engineering
  • Law
  • Life Sciences
  • Mathematics and Statistics
  • Medicine and Healthcare
  • Physics and Astronomy
  • Polymers and Materials Science
  • Psychology
  • Social Sciences

Access: Proxy Vendor: Wiley
Zoological Record 1978-2007 Citations or Abstracts

Index of journals in zoology and related fields.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Ovid

 

Last Updated May 13, 2014

QR Code URL for Mobile Devices