University of Central Florida Libraries
11/23/2014
http://library.ucf.edu/
UCF Website University of Central Florida Libraries
Login now

Art

Sections

Icon Key

  • Books Books.
  • Citations or Abstracts Citations or Abstracts.
  • Full Text Full Text.
  • Images Images.
  • Journals Journals.
  • Top-pick Top-pick.
  • Video Video.
  • Webpage Webpage.

See also: English | Music | Film

Articles

This database contains more than 3,000 items, including correspondence, photographs, early release fliers, full issues of rare periodicals, sheet music and movie star ephemera. It includes complete copies of more than 250 Academy publications,From the founding of the organization in 1927 todate, providing access to significant items including selections from the Alfred Hitchcock papers and the Cecil B. DeMille photographs, as well as the annual Academy Awards programs.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Free
Art Full Text 1929-Current Citations or Abstracts Full Text

This database offers full text plus abstracts and indexing of peer-selected publications with expanded coverage of Latin American, Canadian, Asian and other non-Western art, new artists, contemporary art, exhibition reviews, and feminist criticism. Full-text coverage for selected periodicals is also included. Previous vendor was Wilson.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost

This database is a comprehensive listing of journal articles on architecture since 1934, covering the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation and interior design and decoration.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Proquest

Indexes literature of art, including books, exhibition catalogs, dissertations.

Covering European and American visual arts from late antiquity to the present. Encompasses the fine arts as well as decorative and applied arts.

Access: Free Vendor: Getty

Indexes 42 art journals published in the US during the 19th century.

Access: Proxy Vendor: FirstSerach

Encyclopedias

Comprehensive encyclopedia on every aspect of the visual arts.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Oxford

Images

Ad* Access 1911-1955 Images

Over 7,000 U.S. and Canadian advertisements covering five product categories - Beauty and Hygiene, Radio, Television, Transportation, and World War II propaganda - dated between 1911 and 1955

Access: Free Vendor: Duke

Art and Architecture in Video, delivers over 500 hours of documentaries and interviews illustrating the theory and practice of a variety of art forms. The works within this collection offer a dynamic tool to enhance understanding of visual media.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Alexander Street Press

A digital library of approximately 550,000 images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences for research and pedagogical purposes.

Access: Proxy Vendor: ARTstor

A growing online collection of images of works of art from around the world, representing the collections of prominent museums. Similar to, but smaller than ARTstor.

Access: Proxy Vendor: OCLC

Open Access to 87,000 art images from the Getty Museum in Los Angeles.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Free

Open access to the 57,000 works of art on the Google art project.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Free

Click on “Explore and Learn” and “Educational Resources” on the side bar for online resources

Access: Free

Open access to the over 400,000 pieces of art available for download at the met.

Access: Proxy Vendor: free

Open Access to 35,000 artistic images from the National Gallery in Washington D.C.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Free

Photogrammar is a web-based platform for organizing, searching, and visualizing the 170,000 photographs from 1935 to 1945 created by the United State’s Farm Security Administration and Office of War Information (FSA-OWI).

Access: Free

open access to the 125,000 Dutch masterpieces in the art collection of the Rijksmuseum.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Free

Approximately 3000 design, fashion, and art images.
Users must register to search and view images.

Access: Free Vendor: VADS

Other Resources

Indexing and full text of articles for array of scholarly and popular topics.

Provides full text for over 4,600 scholarly journals, including nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 8,500 journals. This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study including: computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost

Art Index Retrospective provides users access to over half a century of art literature covering fine, decorative, and commercial art. Previous vendor was Wilson.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost

Citation index of the leading arts and humanities journals. Part of Web of Science

Access: Proxy Vendor: ISI

Records for European printing of the hand-press period. Previously named 'Hand Press Book File'.

Access: Proxy Vendor: FirstSerach

Search across Oxford's digital academic content, including:
Digital Reference Shelf
Oxford Art Online
Oxford Handbooks Online
Oxford Journals
Oxford Music Online
Oxford Reference Online
Oxford Scholarship Online

Access: Proxy Vendor: Oxford
SCIPIO 1680-Current Citations or Abstracts

Catalog of art auction and rare book catalogs.

Access: Proxy Vendor: FirstSerach

 

Last Updated September 03, 2014

QR Code URL for Mobile Devices