University of Central Florida Libraries 7/8/2008 http://library.ucf.edu/
Pegasus Logo
University Of Central Florida Libraries
Need help? Ask a Librarian Articles & Databases Online Journals Off-campus Access Interlibrary Loan
UCF Home UCF Home UCF Home

Catalog Search

Search

Website Search


Libraries UCF Web
Site Index

African-American Studies


This is a list of some of the basic databases to find resources for your subject. For a more extensive guide to doing research in African American Studies please see the African American Studies Research Guide

Section Headings List

Books- Books. Citations or Abstracts- Citations or Abstracts. Full Text- Full Text. Government Resources- Government Resources. Journals- Journals. Top-pick- Top-pick. Webpage- Webpage.

*Best Resources

African American Biographical Database Full Text Webpage

Biographies of over 30,000 African-Americans from Chadwyck-Healey’s acclaimed Black Biographical Dictionaries 1790-1950.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Chadwyck-Healy
Ethnic NewsWatch Citations or Abstracts Full Text

Ethnic NewsWatch is an interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.

Access: Proxy Vendor: ProQuest
HarpWeek: The Civil War Era Reconstruction I & II 1857-1912 Full Text Journals

The 56 years of Harper’s Weekly provide a continuous record of what happened on a weekly basis from 1857 through 1912. The first segment includes the Civil War Era: 1857-1865. The next two cover Reconstruction: 1866-1871 and 1872-1877. The last six encompass the Gilded Age: 1878-1912.

Access: Proxy Vendor: HarpWeek

Other Resources

Top-pick Academic Search Premier Citations or Abstracts Full Text Journals

Indexing and full text of articles for array of scholarly and popular topics.

Provides full text for over 3,460 scholarly journals covering the social sciences, humanities, science, cultural studies, education, and much more.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCO
America: History and Life Citations or Abstracts

History of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Old Interface.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost
Top-pick ERIC - EBSCOhost 1966-Current Books Citations or Abstracts Full Text Government Resources Journals

ERIC is most complete index to articles and reports on educational topics.

ERIC is available from several database vendors. UCF students are advised to use ERIC in EBSCOhost, which provides many links to full text and allows users to search multiple education databases simultaneously. Users who are not UCF students are advised to use ERIC from DOE because no login is required.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCO
Humanities Full Text 1983-Current Citations or Abstracts Full Text

Periodical information in the diverse subject area of the humanities.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Wilson
Sociological Abstracts 1963-Current Citations or Abstracts

Sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.

Includes information from an international selection of over 2,600 journals and other serials publications, plus conference papers, books, and dissertations.

Access: Proxy Vendor: CSA

 

Last Updated March 26, 2008