The collections, dictionaries, encyclopedias, and other reference sources below are general. More specialized reference sources can be found on subject pages and research guides. In addition, the Electronic Books: Reference page links to individual reference books.
See also: Electronic Books: Reference
Artemis is a research experience that unites Gale's digital archives and reference collections. By building a research environment for multiple collections, Gale is creating the largest digital humanities and social sciences collection in the world.
Includes encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations, and a range of subject-specific titles covering everything from art to accountancy and literature to law.
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Search across Oxford's digital academic content, including:
Digital Reference Shelf
Oxford Art Online
Oxford Handbooks Online
Oxford Music Online
Oxford Reference Online
Oxford Scholarship Online
Full text reference resources including encyclopedias, dictionaries, directories, handbooks, thesauri and more.
Indexes of more than 40,000 electronic and print reference works.
Biographies of over 30,000 African-Americans from Chadwyck-Healeyâ€™s acclaimed Black Biographical Dictionaries 1790-1950.
Enables users to locate biographical entries contained in more than 1,000 volumes and editions of important current and retrospective biographical reference sources.
Biography Resource Center combines Gale biographies with related full-text articles from magazines and newspapers, thousands images, and links to vetted websites.
Featuring retrospective coverage from Biography Index back to its first publication in 1946, it combines retrospective coverage with current indexing. Previous vendor was Wilson.
The definitive dictionary and record of 1000 years of the English language with present-day meanings and histories of individual words traced through quotations, from literature, periodicals, and specialist sources. Also available in print. Main Library Reference -- PE1625.M7 1989.
Directory of community services and resources.
CollegeSource Online features over 13,624 College Catalogs in complete cover-to-cover, original page format representing 2-year, 4-year, graduate and professional schools.
Full text directories:
Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia database indexes over 25,000 records, covering an array of topics.
Funk & Wagnalls New Encyclopedia and four almanacs offers a fundamental reference source for students, library patrons, library reference staff, and scholars alike, includes biographies, encyclopedia entries, facts, statistics.
Prices, frequency of publication, addresses, phone and fax numbers, e-mail and Web addresses for journals, magazines, newspapers, and other periodicals worldwide. Indicates available formats, intended audience, special features and indexing/abstracting services coverage. Formerly named Ulrich's International Periodicals Directory
Last Updated August 11, 2014