University of Central Florida Libraries 7/20/2008 http://library.ucf.edu/
Pegasus Logo
University Of Central Florida Libraries
Need help? Ask a Librarian Articles & Databases Online Journals Off-campus Access Interlibrary Loan
UCF Home UCF Home UCF Home

Catalog Search

Search

Website Search


Libraries UCF Web
Site Index

Reference Sources

Section Headings List

Books- Books. Brief Information- Brief Information. Citations or Abstracts- Citations or Abstracts. Data- Data. Full Text- Full Text. Government Resources- Government Resources. Top-pick- Top-pick. Webpage- Webpage.

*Best Resources

Gale Directory Library Data Full Text

Full text directories:

  • Directories in Print
  • Directory of Special Libraries and Information Centers
  • Encyclopedia of American Religion
  • Encyclopedia of Associations: National Associations
  • Encyclopedia of Associations: International Associations
  • Encyclopedia of Associations: Regional, State and Local Associations
  • Encyclopedia of Governmental Advisory Organizations
  • Gale Directory of Databases
  • Gale Directory of Publications and Broadcast Media
  • Government Research Centers Directory
  • International Research Centers Directory
  • Newsletters in Print
  • Publishers Directory
  • Research Centers Directory.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Gale
xrefer

See Credo Reference. Renamed July 2007.

Access: Proxy

Biographies/People

African American Biographical Database Full Text Webpage

Biographies of over 30,000 African-Americans from Chadwyck-Healey’s acclaimed Black Biographical Dictionaries 1790-1950.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Chadwyck-Healy
Biography & Genealogy Master Index Citations or Abstracts

Enables users to locate biographical entries contained in more than 1,000 volumes and editions of important current and retrospective biographical reference sources.

References 12.7 million biographical sketches in more than 3,400 current and retrospective reference books, covering contemporary and historical figures throughout the world.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Gale
Biography Index Full Text

Citations to biographies published in books, magazines, and journals.

Cites more than 2,700 periodicals and 1,800 books, including individual and collective biographies, as well as juvenile literature.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Wilson
Top-pick Biography Resource Center & The Complete Marquis Who's Who Citations or Abstracts Full Text

Biography Resource Center combines Gale biographies with related full-text articles from magazines and newspapers, thousands images, and links to vetted websites.

People included are from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas. Search by name, birth and death years and places, nationality, ethnicity, occupation or gender. List of Sources included,such as the Dictionary of American Biography.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Gale

Conferences and Proceedings

Conference Papers Index 1982-Current Citations or Abstracts

Citations to papers and poster sessions presented at major scientific meetings around the world.

Access: Proxy Vendor: CSA
Directory of Published Proceedings

Canceled due to budget cuts. Consider using ProceedingsFirst or subject specific indexes. For help contact Ask a Librarian.

Access: CANCELED
ProceedingsFirst Citations or Abstracts

Covers every published congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop and meeting received by The British Library Document Supply Centre.

Access: Proxy Vendor: FirstSearch

Dictionaries

Merriam-Webster's Online Dictionary Brief Information
Access: Free Vendor: Britannica
OED: Oxford English Dictionary Books Brief Information

The largest dictionary of word descriptions and history of usage.

Also available in print in Main Library Reference -- PE1625.M7 1989.

Access: Proxy Vendor: OUP

Directories

2-1-1 Community Resources Brief Information Data Webpage

Directory of community services and resources.

Access: Free Vendor: 211
College Source College Catalog 1994-Current Full Text

CollegeSource® Online features over 13,624 College Catalogs in complete cover-to-cover, original page format representing 2-year, 4-year, graduate and professional schools.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Career Guidance Foundation
Peterson's Brief Information Webpage

Directory of colleges and universities.

Includes technical and distance learning programs, and other institutions of higher education.

Access: Free Vendor: Peterson's
Ready Reference Shelf Citations or Abstracts Full Text

Gale's Ready Reference Shelf provides integrated access to 355,000 entries culled from the databases of fourteen of Gale's most popular reference directories.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Gale
Reference USA Full Text

Business and residential telephone and address directories for the United States of America and Canada.

Access: Proxy Vendor: InformationUSA

Encyclopedias

Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia Brief Information

Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia database indexes over 25,000 records, covering an array of topics.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost

Miscellaneous

EBSCO Animals Full Text

Full text records from the Encyclopedia of Animals describing the nature and habitat of familiar animals.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCO
Gale's Virtual Reference Library Books Full Text

Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Gale
LexisNexis Statistical Brief Information Data Government Resources

Indexes statistical publications and some full text.

Includes:

  • Statistical Abstract of the United States.
  • American Statistics Index (ASI) 1974-
  • Statistical Reference Index (SRI) 1980-
  • Index to International Statistics (IIS) 1983-

The UCF Library has the full text of some ASI, SRI, and IIS reports in print or microfiche. Tips for Searching.

Access: Proxy Vendor: LexisNexis
STAT-USA Data Government Resources

Statistics on the U.S. economy and international trade. Off-campus access canceled due to budget cuts. Access available in the Main Library Reference area. Ask at the Reference Desk for assistance.

Access: Password Only Vendor: DoC
World Almanac 1868-Current Books Brief Information Full Text

Funk & Wagnalls New Encyclopedia and four almanacs offers a fundamental reference source for students, library patrons, library reference staff, and scholars alike, includes biographies, encyclopedia entries, facts, statistics.

Access: Proxy Vendor: FirstSearch

Publications & Publishers

Gale's Ready Reference Shelf Books Brief Information Full Text

Gale's Ready Reference Shelf provides integrated access to 355,000 entries culled from the databases of fourteen of Gale's most popular reference directories.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Gale
Ulrich's International Periodicals Directory Citations or Abstracts

Prices, frequency of publication, addresses, phone and fax numbers, e-mail and Web addresses for journals, magazines, newspapers, and other periodicals worldwide. Indicates available formats, intended audience, special features (i.e. reviews, whether a journal is refereed) and indexing/abstracting services coverage.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Bowker

 

Last Updated June 30, 2008