University of Central Florida Libraries
10/22/2014
http://library.ucf.edu/
UCF Website University of Central Florida Libraries
Login now

Open Access Databases, Indexes & Repositories

Sections

Icon Key

  • Books Books.
  • Brief Information Brief Information.
  • Citations or Abstracts Citations or Abstracts.
  • Data Data.
  • Full Text Full Text.
  • Government Resources Government Resources.
  • Images Images.
  • Journals Journals.
  • Top-pick Top-pick.
  • Video Video.
  • Webpage Webpage.

Gateway to thousands of scholarly peer-reviewed open access journals and publishers of open access journals.

Databases & Indexes

Collection of Africana social science titles in five bibliographic databases.

Access: Free

Indexes literature of art, including books, exhibition catalogs, dissertations.

Covering European and American visual arts from late antiquity to the present. Encompasses the fine arts as well as decorative and applied arts.

Access: Free Vendor: Getty

ChemSpider is a free chemical structure database providing fast access to over 28 million structures, properties and associated information. By integrating and linking compounds from more than 400 data sources

Access: Proxy Vendor: Free

An inventory of publications in post-secondary composition, rhetoric, technical writing, ESL, and discourse studies.

Access: Free Vendor: ComPile

The most complete index to articles and reports on educational topics.

Access: Free Vendor: Dept. of Education

A gateway to various Internet resources, to include a searchable, subject-categorized directory of authoritative websites, links to online texts, and newspapers & magazines.

Access: Free

A search engine dedicated to indexing free open access ejournals in the arts and humanities.

Access: Free

The consumer health database from the National Library of Medicine, MedlinePlus has extensive information from the National Institutes of Health and other trusted sources on over 750 diseases and conditions.

Access: Free Vendor: NLM

The NAL Catalog provides citations to agricultural literature, including books, serials, journal articles, and book chapters.
Also see UCF's subscription to AGRICOLA through ProQuest.

Access: Free Vendor: USDA
NCJRS - DOJ 1970-Current Citations or Abstracts

A clearinghouse of research, policy, and practice related to criminal and juvenile justice, and drug control.

Access: Free Vendor: DOJ

The leading freely-available, small compound database, part of the National Center for Biotechnology Information/ National Library of Medicine's Entrez suite of databases.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Free
Top-pick PubMed 1966-Current Citations or Abstracts Top-pick

The free version of MEDLINE. ''Note,the link above requires login for off-campus access and provides SFX links. For access with no login use this link: PubMed (no SFX).

Access: Free Vendor: NLM

Science.gov is an interagency initiative of 19 U.S. government science organizations within 15 federal agencies that provides a search of over 60 scientific databases and is a gateway to over 2200 scientific websites.

Access: Free

Repositories

A central, open-access repository of research by members of the Harvard community.

Access: Free Vendor: Harvard

HathiTrust is a collaborative repository of digital content from academic & research institutions offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.

Access: Free

Free online repository, providing access to thousands of learning and teaching resources.

Access: Free

OpenDOAR is a comprehensive and authoritative list of international institutional and subject-based repositories, as well as archives set up by funding agencies - like the National Institutes for Health in the USA or the Wellcome Trust in the UK and Europe.

Access: Free
Access: Free

Contains articles, conferences and reports from UNESCO in education, science, culture, social and human sciences.

Access: Free Vendor: UN

 

Last Updated April 21, 2014

QR Code URL for Mobile Devices