University of Central Florida Libraries
4/17/2014
http://library.ucf.edu/
UCF Website University of Central Florida Libraries
Log in now

Open Access and Free Resources

Sections

Icon Key

  • Audio Audio.
  • Books Books.
  • Brief Information Brief Information.
  • Citations or Abstracts Citations or Abstracts.
  • Data Data.
  • Full Text Full Text.
  • Government Resources Government Resources.
  • Images Images.
  • Journals Journals.
  • Video Video.
  • Webpage Webpage.

*Best Resources

DPLA presents the images, documents, maps, and other digitized material from America's libraries, archives, and museums.

Access: Free

Public Library of Science (PLOS) is a nonprofit publisher, membership, and advocacy organization with a mission to accelerate progress in science and medicine by leading a transformation in research communication.

Access: Free

Directories

Directory of community services and resources.

Access: Free Vendor: 211

Directory of colleges and universities.

Includes technical and distance learning programs, and other institutions of higher education.

Access: Free Vendor: Peterson's

E-Books

Bartleby.com offers a wide range of classic full-text searchable books, including reference works, verse, fiction, and non-fiction.

Access: Free Vendor: Bartleby

Free Online Books

Access: Free

Bookshelf provides free access to books and documents in life science and healthcare.

Access: Free Vendor: National Center for Biotechnology Information

Florida

See PALMM.

Access: Free Vendor: FCLA

A unique digital collection of material contributed by partner institutions.

Access: Free Vendor: CFM

Identifies publications housed in the Florida Documents Collection at Florida Atlantic University (FAU).

Access: Free Vendor: FCLA

Welcome to Florida Entomologist, the first long-published, refereed, natural science journal on the Internet.

Access: Free Vendor: FCLA

Contains both digital full text materials and research bibliographies about the ecology and environment of Florida.

Access: Free Vendor: FCLA

Online access to materials broadly representing Floridas history, culture, arts, literature, sciences and social sciences; these materials include family papers and records, diaries, letters, business records, maps, photographs, and other materials that are unique and important for historical research.

Access: Free Vendor: FEL

Florida On Florida is a catalog of digital materials related to Florida. It includes all sorts of items including maps,photographs, postcards, books, and manuscripts.

Access: Free Vendor: FCLA

Publication of Archival, Library & Museum Materials (PALMM) is a cooperative initiative of the public universities of Florida to provide digital access to important source materials for research and scholarship relevant to the students, research community, and general citizenry of Florida.

Access: Free Vendor: FCLA

Full Text Journals

BioMed Central is an independent publishing house committed to providing immediate open access to peer-reviewed biomedical research.

Access: Free Vendor: OpenAccess Central

College & Research Libraries (C&RL) is the official scholarly research journal of the Association of College & Research Libraries.

Access: Free

A listing of free E-Journals offered by the Smithsonian Institute.

Access: Free Vendor: Smithsonian Institute

Images

Ad* Access 1911-1955 Images

Over 7,000 U.S. and Canadian advertisements covering five product categories - Beauty and Hygiene, Radio, Television, Transportation, and World War II propaganda - dated between 1911 and 1955

Access: Free Vendor: Duke

The Museum of Modern Art's online collection includes more than 51,000 modern and contemporary works of art.

Access: Free

Spanning a wide range of historical eras, geography, and visual media, NYPL Digital Gallery offers digital images of drawings, illuminated manuscripts, maps, photographs, posters, prints, rare illustrated books, and more. These materials represent the applied sciences, fine and decorative arts, history, performing arts, and social sciences.

Access: Free

High quality images, charts, and tables from Springer publications, searchable by caption, citation, image type and other criteria. You can find over 700,000 open access images by selecting "Only accessible images".

Access: Free

Approximately 3000 design, fashion, and art images.
Users must register to search and view images.

Access: Free Vendor: VADS

Indexes

Indexes literature of art, including books, exhibition catalogs, dissertations.

Covering European and American visual arts from late antiquity to the present. Encompasses the fine arts as well as decorative and applied arts.

Access: Free Vendor: Getty

An inventory of publications in post-secondary composition, rhetoric, technical writing, ESL, and discourse studies.

Access: Free Vendor: ComPile

Databases purchased by the State of Florida for public libraries.

Access: Free Vendor: FEL

A search engine dedicated to indexing free open access ejournals in the arts and humanities.

Access: Free
NCJRS - DOJ 1970-Current Citations or Abstracts

A clearinghouse of research, policy, and practice related to criminal and juvenile justice, and drug control.

Access: Free Vendor: DOJ

Science.gov is an interagency initiative of 19 U.S. government science organizations within 15 federal agencies that provides a search of over 60 scientific databases and is a gateway to over 2200 scientific websites.

Access: Free

A listing of free E-Journals offered by the Smithsonian Institute.

Access: Free Vendor: Smithsonian Institute

Newspapers

Indexes the University of Florida student newspaper from 1984-1991.

Access: Free Vendor: FCLA

Indexing is limited to Northeast Florida regional news.

Access: Free Vendor: FCLA

This site provides links to newspapers and publications that contain local, free, and independent news from each country in the world.

Access: Free

An international newspaper that covers current events.

Access: Free

Other Resources

Collection of Africana social science titles in five bibliographic databases.

Access: Free

Primary source materials relating to the history and culture of the United States. Collection consists of written and spoken word, sound recordings, prints, images, and sheet music.

Access: Free Vendor: Library of Congress

ChemSpider is a free chemical structure database providing fast access to over 28 million structures, properties and associated information. By integrating and linking compounds from more than 400 data sources

Access: Proxy Vendor: Free

EThOS provide an aggregated record of doctoral theses awarded in the UK and free access to the full text many of the theses.

Access: Free

Covers books, chapters, articles, and conference papers in the field of Latin American studies, Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities.

Access: Free Vendor: Library of Congress

A catalog of over 25,000 audio-visual programmes, and their distributors, available in the UK, entries cover films, videos, DVDs, slides, sound recordings, tape-slide packages, computer courseware and interactive multimedia.

Access: Free Vendor: BUFVC

Free internet site showcasing video, live music, audio and texts.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Free

Provides physicians and other health professionals an accessible mechanism for obtaining objective, detailed information on clinical practice guidelines and to further their dissemination, implementation, and use.

Access: Free Vendor: AMA

OATD is a resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world. Theses and dissertations come from over 600 colleges, universities, and research institutions. OATD currently indexes over 1.5 million theses and dissertations.

Access: Free

The leading freely-available, small compound database, part of the National Center for Biotechnology Information/ National Library of Medicine's Entrez suite of databases.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Free

Science Accelerator includes R&D results, project descriptions, accomplishments, and more, via resources from the Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI), U.S. Department of Energy. This site provides access to scientific e-prints, science conference papers and proceedings, and information on green energy research.

Access: Free Vendor: U.S. Department of Energy

The SCImago Journal & Country Rank is a portal that includes the journals and country scientific indicators developed from the information contained in the Scopus® database (Elsevier B.V.).

Access: Free Vendor: SCImago

The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy (SEP) combines an online encyclopedia of philosophy with peer reviewed publication of original papers in philosophy, freely-accessible to internet users.

Access: Proxy Vendor: free

QuickFacts tables are summary profiles showing frequently requested data items from various Census Bureau programs. Profiles are available for the nation, states, counties, and places.

Access: Free

Covers all US patents from 1790 onwards. Download or view high-quality images of the actual pages of the patents, including diagrams and structures from 1790 onwards. Patents from 1976 - present are available full text in an HTML text format.

Access: Free

ODS covers all types of official United Nations documentation, beginning in 1993.

Access: Free Vendor: UN

Over 40,000 treaties treaties and international agreements published by the Secretariat since 1946. Free as of 2008.

Access: Free Vendor: UN

Provides high quality national and international statistics to clients within and outside the Bank and to improve the capacity of member countries to produce and use statistical information.

Access: Free Vendor: Worldbank

 

Last Updated April 14, 2014

QR Code URL for Mobile Devices