University of Central Florida Libraries
4/16/2014
http://library.ucf.edu/
UCF Website University of Central Florida Libraries
Log in now

Music

Sections

Icon Key

  • Audio Audio.
  • Books Books.
  • Citations or Abstracts Citations or Abstracts.
  • Full Text Full Text.
  • Images Images.
  • Journals Journals.

This is a list of some of the basic databases to find resources for your subject. For a more extensive guide to doing research in Music please see the Music Research Guide

*Best Resources

Comprehensive encyclopedia on all aspects of music.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Oxford

RILM (Repertoire International de Littrature Musicale) a comprehensive, ongoing guide to publications on music from all over the world. It contains records in over 100 languages.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost

Other Resources

This database contains more than 3,000 items, including correspondence, photographs, early release fliers, full issues of rare periodicals, sheet music and movie star ephemera. It includes complete copies of more than 250 Academy publications,From the founding of the organization in 1927 todate, providing access to significant items including selections from the Alfred Hitchcock papers and the Cecil B. DeMille photographs, as well as the annual Academy Awards programs.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Free
Humanities Full Text 1984-Current Citations or Abstracts Full Text

Humanities Full Text contains full text plus abstracts and bibliographic indexing scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as lesser-known but important specialized magazines. Previous vendor was Wilson.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost

Transliterations and literal translations of songs, arias, and poetry, as a selection of sound recordings in Latin, French, German, and Italian.

Access: Proxy Vendor: IPA
Music Index 1970-Current Citations or Abstracts

A Subject/Author Guide to Music Periodical Literature from 1976 to the present and contains surveyed data from over 850 music periodicals from over 40 countries.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost

Multi-label database of Classical music recordings for listening and learning.

50,000-plus tracks includes recordings from the world's greatest labels. Coverage includes music written from the earliest times (e.g. Gregorian Chant) to the present, including many contemporary composers. Repertoire ranges from vocal and choral music, to chamber, orchestral, solo instrumental, and opera.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Alexander Street Press

Digital images of music scores, selected by the Open Content Alliance, and cataloged by the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign Library.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Open Content Alliance

Search across Oxford's digital academic content, including:
Digital Reference Shelf
Oxford Art Online
Oxford Handbooks Online
Oxford Journals
Oxford Music Online
Oxford Reference Online
Oxford Scholarship Online

Access: Proxy Vendor: Oxford

 

Last Updated March 03, 2014

QR Code URL for Mobile Devices