University of Central Florida Libraries 11/7/2009 http://library.ucf.edu/
UCF Website University of Central Florida Libraries
Log in now
Ask a Librarian Articles & Databases Online Journals Off-campus Access Interlibrary Loan

Music

Sections

Icon Key

  • Audio- Audio.
  • Citations or Abstracts- Citations or Abstracts.
  • Full Text- Full Text.
  • Images- Images.

This is a list of some of the basic databases to find resources for your subject. For a more extensive guide to doing research in Music please see the Music Research Guide

*Best Resources

Comprehensive encyclopedia on all aspects of music.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Oxford

RILM (Répertoire International de Littérature Musicale) contains records in over 100 languages; entries include original-language titles, title translations in English, full bibliographic information, and abstracts in English, as well as author, journal, and in-depth subject indexes.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost

Other Resources

Multi-label database of Classical music recordings for listening and learning. Also includes a one year trial of Jazz Music Library.

50,000-plus tracks includes recordings from the world's greatest labels including Hyperion, Bridge Records, Sanctuary Classics, Artemis-Vanguard, Hänssler Classic, Vox and many more. Coverage includes music written from the earliest times (e.g. Gregorian Chant) to the present, including many contemporary composers. Repertoire ranges from vocal and choral music, to chamber, orchestral, solo instrumental, and opera.

Access: Proxy Vendor: ASP
Humanities Full Text 1907-Current Citations or Abstracts Full Text

Periodical information in the diverse subject area of the humanities.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Wilson

Transliterations and literal translations of songs, arias, and poetry, as a selection of sound recordings in Latin, French, German, and Italian.

Access: Proxy

Complete recordings of significant jazz compositions and performances. *One year trial for June 2009 to May 2010.**

Access: Proxy Vendor: ASP
Music Index 1976-Current Citations or Abstracts

A Subject/Author Guide to Music Periodical Literature from 1976 to the present and contains surveyed data from over 850 music periodicals from over 40 countries.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost

Digital images of music scores, selected by the Open Content Alliance, and cataloged by the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign Library.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Open Content Alliance

 

Last Updated July 22, 2009