University of Central Florida Libraries
10/25/2014
http://library.ucf.edu/
UCF Website University of Central Florida Libraries
Login now

Humanities

Sections

Icon Key

  • Books Books.
  • Brief Information Brief Information.
  • Citations or Abstracts Citations or Abstracts.
  • Data Data.
  • Full Text Full Text.
  • Images Images.
  • Journals Journals.
  • Video Video.

"Humanities" encompasses several disciplines. Please look for more specific disciplines on the main Databases page.

Full Text Books

Over 2,500 full text e-books for the humanities and related fields.

Access: Proxy Vendor: ACLS

Full text of a small collection of scholarly books in history and social studies.

Gutenberg-e has traditional narrative with digitized primary sources, including maps, photographs, and oral histories.

Access: Free Vendor: Columbia U

Journals: Full Text

Project MUSE is a unique collaboration between libraries and publishers providing 100% full-text, affordable and user-friendly online access to over 300+ high quality humanities and social sciences journals from over 60 scholarly publishers.

Access: Proxy Vendor: John Hopkins U
Vogue Archive 1892-Current Full Text Images Journals

The Vogue Archive contains the full run of Vogue magazine (US edition), from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images. Every page, advertisement, cover and fold-out has been included, with indexing enabling you to find images by garment type, designer and brand names.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Proquest

Other Resources

Citation index of the leading arts and humanities journals. Part of Web of Science

Access: Proxy Vendor: ISI

Essay and General Literature Index is a bibliographic database that cites essays and articles contained in collections of essays and miscellaneous works published in the United States, Great Britain, and Canada. Previous vendor was Wilson.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost

Essay and General Literature Index Retrospective is a bibliographic database that cites essays, articles and miscellaneous works published in the United States, Great Britain, and Canada. Previous vendor was Wilson.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost

Ethnographic Video Online brings together streaming video, covering human behavior. Essential for the study of anthropology, as well as the areas of politics, economics, history, psychology, environmental studies, religion, area studies, linguistics, and geography, the database will contain more than 1,100 documentary films, including previously unpublished material from individual filmmakers.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Alexander Street Press

The selective list presented in this collection features classic and contemporary works of fiction recommended for a general adult audience, written in or translated into English. Previous vendor was Wilson.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost

Graphic Novels Core Collection highlights recommended titles with descriptive and evaluative annotations, plus cover art. Features include: Comprehensive annotations, including review excerpts and awards the title has won, All titles searchable by author, title, subject, genre and grade level. Previous vendor was Wilson.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost
Humanities Full Text 1984-Current Citations or Abstracts Full Text

Humanities Full Text contains full text plus abstracts and bibliographic indexing scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as lesser-known but important specialized magazines. Previous vendor was Wilson.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost

These videos feature award-winning films and printed works, documentaries, interviews, memoirs, letters, speeches, biographies, archival footage and primary source collections exploring the cultural, social, and political evolution of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people from the beginning of the twentieth century to the present day.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Alexander Street Press
NCCO 1800-1899 Books Citations or Abstracts Full Text Images Journals
Access: Proxy Vendor: Gale

Nineteenth Century Collections Online: includes tens of thousands of primary sources during the nineteenth century. The archive includes a range of rare works that offer new avenues for research. The archive includes a variety of content types; monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more

Access: Proxy Vendor: Gale

 

Last Updated March 03, 2014

QR Code URL for Mobile Devices