University of Central Florida Libraries
2/9/2012
http://library.ucf.edu/
UCF Website University of Central Florida Libraries
Log in now

Hospitality

Sections

Icon Key

  • Books Books.
  • Citations or Abstracts Citations or Abstracts.
  • Data Data.
  • Full Text Full Text.
  • Government Resources Government Resources.
  • Images Images.
  • Journals Journals.
  • Top-pick Top-pick.
  • Webpage Webpage.

Listed below are some of the most commonly used databases for Hospitality topics. For more assistance, please refer to our Rosen Library Research Guides or submit a question to Ask a Rosen Librarian.

*Best Resources

Scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism. This collection contains more than 828,000 records, with coverage dating as far back as 1965. There is full text for more than 490 publications, including periodicals, company & country reports, and books.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCO

Leisure Tourism Database is the leading database on leisure, tourism, hospitality and recreation information.

Access: Proxy Vendor: CABI

Business/Management Aspects

Access: Proxy
Top-pick ABI/INFORM Archive 1905-1985 Citations or Abstracts Full Text Journals Top-pick

Articles on business-related disciplines and over 60,000 companies.

Covers advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, and computers. Includes business conditions, trends, corporate strategies and tactics, management techniques, competitive and product information, company histories and new product development. Old Interface.

Access: Proxy Vendor: ProQuest

Wilson Business Full Text is a full text database that indexes and abstracts articles from English-language periodicals published in the United States and elsewhere, including the leading business magazines and trade and research journals, plus the full text of selected periodicals. Previous vendor was Wilson

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCO

Citations to articles in business and related fields.

Covers management, economics, finance, banking, investment, and related fields. Full text included for nearly 260 journals.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCO
EconLit 1886-Current Citations or Abstracts Full Text

Citations and abstracts to articles from more than 400 economics journals, covering , capital markets, econometrics, economic forecasting, government regulations, labor economics, monetary theory.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCO

Analyze company performance and activity, industry events and trends as well as the latest in management, economics and politics.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Gale

Business information focusing on facts, figures, events and market information about companies, industries, products and markets.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Gale

Canceled due to budget cuts.

Access: CANCELED Vendor: InformationUSA

Company/Industry Research

Company profiles, brief financials, history, competitors, and more.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Mergent

A collection of Industry Market Research. All users must register for a personal account to access IBISworld.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Ibis

Company Dossier is part of LexisNexis Academic business information solutions including: legal, corporate, government, law enforcement, tax, accounting, academic, and risk and compliance assessment.

Access: Proxy Vendor: LexisNexis
Access: Proxy Vendor: Mintel

Database for searching information on stocks, companies and mutural funds.

Access: Proxy Vendor: S&P
Access: Proxy Vendor: Value Line

Education Aspects

Education Full Text 1983-Current Citations or Abstracts Full Text

Education Full Text brings you comprehensive coverage of an international range of English-language periodicals, monographs and yearbooks. Full text of articles, with indexing cover to cover, from hundreds of journals, make this a one-stop source for research. Coverage includes about 79 journals (37 with full text) not covered by ERIC’s CIJE. Previous vendor was Wilson.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCO
Top-pick ERIC - EBSCOhost 1966-Current Books Citations or Abstracts Full Text Government Resources Journals Top-pick

ERIC is most complete index to articles and reports on educational topics.

ERIC is available from several database vendors. UCF students are advised to use ERIC in EBSCOhost, which provides many links to full text and allows users to search multiple education databases simultaneously. Users who are not UCF students are advised to use ERIC from DOE because no login is required.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCO

Legal Aspects/Law Cases

Full text of news and legal sources, as well as company and industry data. See the LexisNexis Academic Research Guide for tips and information. The old interface is also available .

Limited coverage of business and health administration news. Sources include newspapers, wire services, magazines, SEC filings, law cases, state and federal codes, law review journals, and reference works.

Access: Proxy Vendor: LexisNexis

Marketing Data

Company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies, and periodicals articles covering company and industry news.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Gale

The Datamonitor Group is a provider of premium global business information, delivering independent data, analysis and opinion across the Automotive, Consumer Packaged Goods, Energy & Sustainability, Financial Services, Logistics & Express, Pharmaceutical & Healthcare and Retail industries.

(Formerly: MarketLine Business Information Center, MBIC and Datamonitor 360)

Access: Proxy Vendor: Datamonitor

Statistics, market research, and publications on sports business, sales, and participation.

Access: Proxy Vendor: SBR

Other Resources

Academic OneFile 1980-Current Citations or Abstracts Full Text

A multi-disciplinary index covering physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Gale

Indexing and full text of articles for array of scholarly and popular topics.

Provides full text for over 4,600 scholarly journals, including nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 8,500 journals. This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study including: computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCO

Research Reports on various "hot" issues ranging from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology.

Access: Proxy Vendor: CQ

Indexing and full text of to U.S. dissertations and thesis. Search by author, title, school, year, and discipline. Full text available for most dissertations granted from 1997 forward. From 1980 forward, citations include a 350-word abstract. Citations for master's theses from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. old interface.

Access: Proxy Vendor: ProQuest

A program to help you organize citations and generate a bibliography.

Access: Proxy Vendor: ISI

Indexing and full text of news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics. Covers business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Gale

Full text of 1000+ core research journals from the year of their inception, many dating back to the early 1900's, JSTOR offers researchers the ability to retrieve high-resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated.

Access: Proxy Vendor: JSTOR
OmniFile Full Text 1982-Current Citations or Abstracts Full Text

Multi-disciplinary source for citations and full text articles. Previous vendor was Wilson.

Includes the complete content from six Wilson database:

  • Business Index Full Text
  • Education Full Text
  • General Science Full Text
  • Humanities Full Text
  • Readers' Guide
  • Social Sciences Full Text

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCO

Orlando-area business news and the Orlando Book of List. Provided by UCF's SGA, SDES, COB, and
Career Services in partnership with the Orlando Business Journal.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Bizjournals.com
Orlando Sentinel 1985-Current Full Text

Complete full-text content of Orlando and regional news. See also Access World News for NewsBank access to the Orlando Sentinel and other news sources. Includes community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community. Classifieds and advertisements are excluded. Old Interface.

Access: Proxy Vendor: ProQuest

A web-based system to help you organize citations and generate a bibliography. See our RefWorks Guide for more information.

Access: Proxy Vendor: ProQuest

Mapping application that enables users to develop interactive thematic maps and reports using thousands of demographic, business, and marketing data variables.

Create a SimplyMap account if you wish to save your work access other user account features, or click "Create Temporary Account" to use the service without registering.
5 Concurrent users.

Includes access to: access to several data sets:

  • EASI - demographic data from the year 2000, Current Estimates, Five Year Projections;
  • EASI Health;
  • D&B US Company Database
  • Experian SimmonsLOCAL;
  • Nielsen Claritas PRIZM

Access: Proxy Vendor: GeographicResearch

The largest collection of science, technology, and medicine ebooks, containing over 20,000 eBooks from 2005 on, and over 1000 book series from 1997-on.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Springer

Use this database to search thousands of college and graduate school entries, identify scholarships that meet financial needs, take on-line practice tests and use test prep eBooks to obtain your education goals.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Gale

Prices, frequency of publication, addresses, phone and fax numbers, e-mail and Web addresses for journals, magazines, newspapers, and other periodicals worldwide. Indicates available formats, intended audience, special features (i.e. reviews, whether a journal is refereed) and indexing/abstracting services coverage.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Bowker
Web of Science 1965-current Citations or Abstracts

Citation Indexes for finding articles that cite a given author or citation.

  • Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present)
  • Science Citation Index Expanded (1965-present)
  • Social Sciences Citation Index (1965-present)

Access: Proxy Vendor: ISI

Catalog of library collections from the U.S. and around the world.

The world's most comprehensive bibliography, with 36 million records for books and material in 370 languages and covering information from 4,000 years of knowledge.

Access: Proxy Vendor: FirstSearch

Psychological/Behavioral Aspects

PsycInfo 1887-Current Citations or Abstracts

Covers scholarly literature in all aspects of psychology and related fields.

Materials are selected from more than 1,300 journals published in 50 countries and 28 languages.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost
Sociological Abstracts 1952-Current Citations or Abstracts

Covers the literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences, with abstracts of journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Old Interface.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Proquest

 

Last Updated February 03, 2012

QR Code URL for Mobile Devices