University of Central Florida Libraries 8/29/2008 http://library.ucf.edu/
Pegasus Logo
University Of Central Florida Libraries
Need help? Ask a Librarian Articles & Databases Online Journals Off-campus Access Interlibrary Loan
UCF Home UCF Home UCF Home

Catalog Search

Search

Website Search


Libraries UCF Web
Site Index

Education Web Sites

Section Headings List

See also: Education Databases

Books- Books. Brief Information- Brief Information. Full Text- Full Text. Government Resources- Government Resources. Journals- Journals. Webpage- Webpage.

Adult Learning

American Association of Adult and Continuing Education Webpage

Provides general information, conferences, publications and links for adult education.

Access: Free
National Assessment of Adult Literacy Webpage

Assessment of literacy among adults (ages 16 and up) living in U.S. households and prisons.

Access: Free
National Center for the Study of Adult Learning and Literacy Webpage

Improves practices and informs teaching in the educational programs that serve adults with limited literacy and English language skills, and those without a high school diploma, as well as increased the research base on adult learning and literacy. By NCSALL.

Access: Free

Art Education

Art Education Page for K12 Webpage

Meta-site for teachers, librarians, parents and students to preview selected art education links. By James Madison University.

Access: Free
Art History Resources on the Web Webpage

Links divided by period. By Sweet Briar College.

Access: Free
Art Museums and Art History Brief Information Webpage

Serves as a fine art forum and resource directory. By Mississippi State University.

Access: Free
Art Teacher on the Net Webpage

Award Winning, Highly Recommended Art Lesson Plans and Art Education Website for Teachers, Parents, Scouts, and Group Leaders. Free Art Resources, Art Projects, Art Expert Advice, Teacher Exchange, and More.

Access: Free
ArtsEdge: the Kennedy Center Webpage

Offers free, standards-based teaching materials for use in and out of the classroom, as well as professional development resources, student materials, and guidelines for arts-based instruction and assessment.

Access: Free
McRel Lesson Plans: the Arts Webpage

Links to arts education sites, including lesson plans, activities, and curriculum resources.

Access: Free
Metropolitan Museum of Art Webpage

Click on “Explore and Learn” and “Educational Resources” on the side bar for online resources

Access: Free

Assessment and Evaluation

Achieve Webpage

Created by the nation's governors and business leaders, Achieve helps states raise academic standards and achievement so that all students graduate ready for college, careers, and citizenship

Access: Free
Assessment in Higher Education Webpage

Devoted to world's best practice in student assessment in higher education, and related topics: here you'll find links to online articles, books, journals, and other relevant information.

Access: Free
CRESST Webpage

Conducts evidence based research, provides tools, assessments, and report systems that improves assessment, evaluation, technology and learning. By UCLA.

Access: Free
ERIC Clearinghouse on Assessment and Evaluation Webpage

Promotes the best resources and provide balanced information concerning educational assessment, evaluation and research methodology.

Access: Free
Evaluation Websites Webpage

General, international and mental health sites.

Access: Free
Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) Webpage

FCAT, administered to students in Grades 3-11, consists of criterion-referenced tests (CRT) in mathematics, reading, science, and writing, which measure student progress toward meeting the Sunshine State Standards (SSS) benchmarks.

Access: Free
Kathy Schrock’s Guide for Educators: Assessment and Rubrics Webpage

A collection of assessment rubrics and graphic organizers that may be helpful to you as you design your own.

Access: Free
National Council on Measurement in Education Webpage
  • Advance the science of measurement in the field of education
  • Improve measurement instruments and procedures for their administration, scoring, interpretation, and use
  • Improve applications of measurement in assessment of individuals and evaluations of educational programs
Access: Free
Nation’s Report Card: National Assessment of Educational Progress Webpage

The Nation's Report Card is the only nationally representative and continuing assessment of what Americas students know and can do in various subject areas.

Access: Free
StatLib Webpage

System for distributing statistical software, datasets, and information by electronic mail, FTP and WWW. StatLib started out as an e-mail service and some of the organization still reflects that heritage. We hope that this document will give you sufficient guidance to navigate through the archives. For your convenience there are several sites around the world which serve as full or partial mirrors to StatLib

Access: Free
Web Center for Social Research Methods Webpage

For people involved in applied social research and evaluation. You'll find lots of resources and links to other locations on the Web that deal in applied social research methods. Some highlights of what is available:”

Access: Free

Children's Literature

ABC-Lit: An Index to Children's Literature Scholarship Webpage

Designed for use by those interested in the theories and criticism used to analyze children's literature. It is not a resource for book reviews in the represented periodicals, nor is it a source for the full-text of the articles. The annotations are, so far, almost all written by Lisa R. Bartle, and may be cited and used for purposes of scholarship and education.

Access: Free
Carol Hurst’s Children’s Literature Site Webpage

Includes reviews of great children's books, classroom activities, lesson plans, and professional topics.

Access: Free
CCBC Books for Children and Young Adults Webpage

Helps librarians, teachers, child care providers and others navigate the abundance of choices to locate the best books possible to meet their needs. By the University of Wisconsin.

Access: Free
Children’s Literature Web Guide Webpage

Lists resources related to books for children. By the University of Calgary.

Access: Free
Children’s Picture Book Database Webpage

Offers abstracts of over 5000 children's picture books; search capabilities for over 950 keywords, including topics, concepts, and skills which describe each book; and weblinks for keywords so one can integrate up-to-date content knowledge with the picture book resources. By Miami University.

Access: Free
Database of Award Winning Children’s Literature Books Full Text Webpage

Creates a tailored reading list of quality children's literature or to find out if a book has won one of the indexed awards. By Lisa Bartle.

Access: Free
International Children’s Digital Library Webpage

The International Children's Digital Library (ICDL) is a five-year project funded by the National Science Foundation (NSF) and the Institute for Museum and Library Services (IMLS) to create a digital library of international children's books...The mission of the ICDL is to select, collect, digitize, and organize children's materials in their original languages and to create appropriate technologies for access and use by children 3-13 years old.

Access: Free
Once Upon a Time … A Children’s Literature Website Webpage

Links to children’s literature information across the web. By VanCamp, Ball State University.

Access: Free
Passport: International Children’s Literature Webpage

Lists essential children’s literature resources from around the globe.

Access: Free
SurLaLune Fairy Tales: Annotated Fairy Tales, Fairy Tale Books and Illustrations Webpage

A portal to the realm of fairy tale and folklore studies featuring 45 annotated fairy tales, including their histories, similar tales across cultures, and over 1,400 illustrations. Discover over 1,500 folk & fairy tales from around the world here.

Access: Free
Vandergrift’s Children’s Literature Page Webpage

Provides a place for sharing ideas and information with those interested in children’s and young adult literature.

Access: Free

Comparative/International Education

Australian Education International Database Webpage

Searchable web database of books, articles, conference papers and reports on international education.

Access: Free
Center for International Higher Education Webpage

Advances knowledge about the complex realities of higher education in the contemporary world. By Boston College.

Access: Free
Country Studies Books Webpage

Search by word or country then go to the education section. By the Library of Congress.

Access: Free
Eurydice Webpage

Browse by country, topic or education indicator, this information network on education in Europe.

Access: Free
Information Resources for International Higher Education Webpage

Links to sites maintained by ASHE Council on International Higher Education. By ASHE.

Access: Free
Institute of International Education Webpage

Services as a programs portal, provides quick links, research and resources for international education

Access: Free
International Association for the Evaluation of Educational Achievement Webpage

Provides international benchmarks and date through comparative research and assessment projects.

Access: Free
International Bibliographic Database on Higher Education Webpage

Integrated database offering more than 30.000 references on higher education systems, administration, planning and policy, costs and finances, evaluation of higher education, issues related to staff and students, cooperation, mobility and equivalences of degrees, curricula, teaching methods and learning. By UNESCO.

Access: Free
International Bureau of Education Webpage

Specializes in contents, methods and structure of education. It builds networks to share expertise on curriculum development in all regions of the world and aims to introduce modern approaches in curriculum design and implementation, improve practical skills and promote informed dialogue at regional and international levels. By UNESCO.

Access: Free
NAFSA Webpage

Home page for the Association of International Educators.

Access: Free
OECD Education Database Webpage

Browse by topic, country for department to find statistics, publications, documents and new releases.

Access: Free
Portals to the World Webpage

Links electronic resources from around the world. By the Library of Congress.

Access: Free
U.S. Network for Education Information Webpage

Provides official information assistance for anyone seeking information about U.S. education and for U.S. citizens seeking authoritative information about education in other countries. By USNEI.

Access: Free
UNESCO Education Information Service Webpage

Home page for all UNESCO education activities.

Access: Free
UNESCO Electronic Documents Webpage

Provides bibliographic records and full-text of UNESCO documents, publications and periodicals.

Access: Free

Copyright

Intellectual Property, Copyright and Fair Use Resources Webpage

By University of Albany.

Access: Free
Teacher’s Guide to Fair Use and Copyright Webpage

Defines copyright and fair use for teachers.

Access: Free
U.S. Copyright Office Webpage

Provides basic information and answers to frequently asked questions about copyright, publications, registrations, licensing, laws and policy.

Access: Free

Curriculum (K-12)

Awesome Library for Teachers, Kids, Teens, Parents and College Webpage

Includes the top 5% web sites in education.

Access: Free
Blue Web N’ Webpage

Lists outstanding web sites arranged by subject, grade level and format (tools, references, lessons, hotlists, resources, tutorials, activities and projects.

Access: Free
CEC Lesson Plans and Web Activities Webpage

Offers lesson plans created and contributed by teachers who've used them successfully in their classrooms and web-based teaching resources created as part of the ECHO projects abroad. By Columbia Education Center.

Access: Free
Federal Resources for Educational Excellence Webpage

Offers free teaching and learning resources from federal agencies.

Access: Free
Gateway to 21st Century Skills Webpage

Places thousands of lesson plans and other teaching materials at your fingertips. By GEM.

Access: Free
MERLOT (Multimedia Educational Resource for Learning and Online Teaching) Webpage

Find peer reviewed online teaching materials, discipline expertise, and online curricula.

Access: Free
New York Times Learning Network Webpage

Lists sites for students, teachers and parents, grades 3-12.

Access: Free

Distance Education

American Distance Education Consortium Webpage

Promotes the creation and provision of high quality, economical distance education programs and services to diverse audiences.

Access: Free
Distance Education Webpage

Distance Education related sites and sources. By Louisiana State University.

Access: Free
Distance Education Clearinghouse Webpage

Brings together distance education information from Wisconsin, national, and international sources. By the University of Wisconsin.

Access: Free
Internet Sites Related to Continuing and Distance Education Webpage

Contains categorized links with brief descriptions to Internet resources that I have found helpful in work as a course designer in the fields of continuing and distance education. By Penn State University.

Access: Free

Early Childhood

Center for Best Practices in Early Childhood Webpage

Develops and promotes practices designed to improve educational opportunities for all young children. By Western Illinois University.

Access: Free
Child Care and Early Education Research Connections Webpage

Offers a comprehensive and easily searchable collection of more than 10,000 resources from the many disciplines related to child care and early education. To find the most current Reports & Papers, Fact Sheets & Briefs, Executive Summaries, Datasets, and Instruments & Measures, conduct a search or browse Recently Added Resources

Access: Free
Early Child Development Webpage

Designed to assist policy makers, program managers, and practitioners in their efforts to promote the healthy growth and integral development of young children. By Worldbank.

Access: Free
Early Childhood Community Webpage

Provides lesson plans, professional development, technology integration, administration, and school issues in early childhood education. By Education World.

Access: Free
Education Virtual Library—Primary Webpage

Provides teaching resources and lesson plans that have been developed by primary classroom teachers.

Access: Free
National Center for Early Development and Learning Webpage

Focuses on enhancing the cognitive, social, and emotional development of children from birth through age eight. By NCEDL.

Access: Free
Preschool Education.com Webpage

Provides numerous learning activities on a wide variety of topics for preschool education.

Access: Free
Technology and Young Children Interest Forum Webpage

Leads discussions, share research and information and demonstrate best practices regarding technology so it can be used to benefit children aged 0-8 years.

Access: Free

Educational Law

Cornell Legal Information Institute: Education Webpage

Provides an overview of education law, federal and state material sources, other resources and related topics.

Access: Free
FindLaw: Education Law Webpage

Findlaw, owned by Westlaw, provides links to primary and secondary authorities, and to other law-related websites. Link is to education law subject page.

Access: Free
Guide to Education Law Webpage

Covers the area of education law, student rights and the privitization movement.

Access: Free
Internet Law Library Webpage

Originally built and maintained by offices of the U.S. House, it has now been modified and hosted by successors.

Access: Free
Library of Congress Guide to Law Online Webpage

Annotated guide to sources of information on government and law available online.

Access: Free

Educational Leadership

Clearinghouse on Educational Policy and Management Webpage

Acquires, indexes and abstracts resources relating to K-12 educational management. By the University of Oregon.

Access: Free
Education Commission of the States Webpage

Helps state leaders shape policy on educational issues in the 50 states.

Access: Free
Institute for Educational Leadership Webpage

Provides information about IEL programs, resources and publications.

Access: Free
National Academy for Academic Leadership Webpage

Educates academic decision makers to be leaders for sustained, integrated institutional change that significantly improves student learning.

Access: Free

Educational Media

ALA and AASL Standards Webpage

Lists educational media standards.

Access: Free
Greyfriar’s Educational Technology Information Webpage

Provides information on web pages, computer technology, and a variety of technology in educational sites.

Access: Free
Librarian Links Webpage

Links for books, reviews, censorship, copyright, information literacy, lesson plans, and general library media information.

Access: Free

Educational Psychology

Counseling Discussion Groups Webpage

Annotated links for counseling discussion groups maintained by California State University Northridge.

Access: Free
Ed Psych Central Webpage

Arranged by topic and categories, this serves as a psychoeducational resource center.

Access: Free
Educational Psychology Interactive Webpage

Lists updated sites of interest to educational psychology. By Valdosta.

Access: Free
Untangling the Web: Your Complete Listing of Disability Information on the Web Webpage

List of disability related resources. By West Virginia University.

Access: Free
Web Sites for Counselor Educators and Supervisors Webpage

Provides internet resource, by category, helpful to counselor educators. Oklahoma State University.

Access: Free

Educational Technology

Coalition for Networked Information Webpage

Supports the transformative promise of networked information technology for the advancement of scholarly communication and the enrichment of intellectual productivity.

Access: Free
Educause Webpage

Advances higher education by promoting the intelligent use of information technology.

Access: Free
EduTech Webpage

Includes information and communication services, technology watch, and support for the Swiss Virtual campus program.

Access: Free
National Center for Technology Planning Webpage

Attempts to maintain the most up-to-date information available on the topic of technology planning.

Access: Free
T H E Journal Journals Webpage

Informs and educates K-12 senior-level district and school administrators, technologists, and tech-savvy educators within districts, schools, and classrooms to improve and advance the learning process through the use of technology.

Access: Free
TechLearning Webpage

Lists resources, publications, discussions of hot topics and events on learning and technology for school teachers.

Access: Free
Technology Tools for Today’s Campuses Webpage

Provides you with informative, sometimes intimate, accounts of colleagues who have agreed to share with others their encounters with using technology in their classes. By the University of North Carolina.

Access: Free
Technology Tutorials for Teachers Webpage

Links to free technology tutorials for teachers.

Access: Free

Elementary Education

Association for Childhood Education International Webpage

Promotes and supports in the global community the optimal education and development of children, from birth through early adolescence, and nfluences the professional growth of educators and the efforts of others who are committed to the needs of children in a changing society.

Access: Free
Child and Family Web Guide Webpage

Five main categories of information: family/parenting, education/learning, typical child development, health/mental health, and resources/recreation. By Tufts University.

Access: Free
U.S. Department of Education. Office of Elementary and Secondary Education Webpage

Provides useful and timely information that will enhance knowledge of elementary and secondary education programs and issues. By the DOE.

Access: Free

For Kids

Great Websites for Kids Webpage

By ALA.

Access: Free
Kids Search Engines Webpage
Access: Free

Foreign Languages/ESL

American Council on the Teaching of Foreign Languages Webpage

Provides resources for modern foreign languages.

Access: Free
Dave’s ESL Café Webpage

Internet’s meeting place for ESL and EFL teachers and students around the world.

Access: Free
Electronic Text Collections in Western European Literature Webpage

Lists internet sources for literary texts in the western European languages other than English. By ACRL.

Access: Free
Everything ESL Webpage

Features lesson plans, teaching tips, downloads, discussion topics, and classroom resource picks.

Access: Free
Internet English Resources Webpage

Offers web sites with activities and resources where one can practice reading/listening to texts intended for native speakers. By Intensive English Institute, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Access: Free
Internet TESL Journal Webpage

Contains articles, research papers, lessons plans, classroom handouts, teaching ideas & links on English as a second language .

Access: Free
Links to Foreign Language Educators Webpage

Contains links to resources for teachers and students at all levels of education.

Access: Free
National Foreign Language Center Webpage

Provides policy and planning for languages in the U.S. By the University of Maryland.

Access: Free
National Foreign Language Resource Center Webpage

Seeks improve the nation's capacity for teaching and learning foreign languages by providing resources, research, material development and teacher training. By the University of Hawaii.

Access: Free
Office of English Language Acquisition, Language Enhancement, and Academic Achievement for Limited English Proficient Students Webpage

Offers programs and initiatives, reports and resources for children with limited English proficiency, immigrant children for a high level of attainment of the English language. By DOE.

Access: Free
PBS Literacy Link Webpage

Helps adults build the basic skills for life long learning.

Access: Free
TESL-EJ 1994-2006 Webpage

Peer reviewed, freely distributed academic journal for ESL.

Access: Free
TESL-EJ 2007 Webpage

2007 Teaching English as a Second or Foreign Language.

Access: Free
UW ELP Center for Pedagogical Resource Page Webpage

Lists resources for writing, grammar, vocabulary, reading, TOEFL and activities. By the University of Washington.

Access: Free

Gifted and Talented

Florida Gifted Information and Resources Webpage

Lists state laws, organizations, program options, statistics, and summer opportunities for Florida’s gifted students.

Access: Free
Links to Gifted and Talented Resources Webpage

Focuses on the needs of students with exceptionally high academic abilities. By John Hopkins University.

Access: Free
National Research Center on the Gifted and Talented Webpage

Contains online resources, research and educational links. By the University Connecticut.

Access: Free

Higher Education

American Council on Education Webpage

Serves as a consensus leader on key higher education issues and seeks to influence public policy through advocacy, research, and program initiatives. By ACE.

Access: Free
Association of American Colleges and Universities Webpage

Source of resources for higher education in the 21st century. By AACU.

Access: Free
Center for the Integration of Research, Teaching and Learning Webpage

By the University of Wisconsin.

Access: Free
Higher Education Research Institute Webpage

Covers a variety of topics including the outcomes of postsecondary education, leadership development, faculty performance, federal and state policy, and educational equity. By UCLA.

Access: Free
Higher Education Resource Hub Webpage

Serves as a clearinghouse of information resources for improving our understanding of higher education in the US and around the world.

Access: Free
Inside Higher Education Webpage

Source for news, opinion and jobs for all of higher education.

Access: Free
National Center for Public Policy and Higher Education Webpage

Promotes public policies that enhance Americans' opportunities to pursue and achieve high-quality education and training beyond high school.

Access: Free
World Lecture Hall Webpage

Free online course material from accredited institutions around the world. By the University of Texas, Austin.

Access: Free

Hospitality Education

Association for Tourism and Leisure Education Webpage

Devoted to "promot[ing] the teaching of tourism, leisure and related subjects" in Eurpoe.

Access: Free
Council of Hotel Restaurant and Institutional Education Webpage

Links from the accrediting body and "global advocate of hospitality and tourism education for schools, colleges, and universities offering programs in hotel and restaurant management, foodservice management and culinary arts.

Access: Free
Educational Institute of American Hotel & Motel Association Webpage

Links from a division of the American Hotel & Motel Association devoted to "delivering quality hospitality education, training and professional certification that serves the needs of hospitality schools and industries worldwide.

Access: Free
Helpful Websites for Hospitality Webpage

Links to useful resources for the hospitality industry and education. By the University of Central Florida.

Access: Free
Hospitality Education Links Webpage

Links to association, culinary schools, hospitality programs, and other educational resources.

Access: Free
Worldwide Hospitality Education Webpage

Contains links to international schools, colleges and universities related to hospitality, culinary, restaurant, and tourism. By International Guild of Hospitality and Restaurant Managers.

Access: Free

Language Arts

Internet and Language Arts Webpage

Resources to use in secondary language arts. By the University of Vermont.

Access: Free
Kathy Schrock’s Literature and Language Arts Webpage

Categorized list of sites useful for enhancing curriculum and professional growth.

Access: Free
Language Arts Webpage

Provides lesson plans and activities for language arts K-12. By Education World.

Access: Free
Literature and Language Arts for All Grades Webpage

Best of the Humanities on the Web brings online humanities resources from some of the world's great museums, libraries, cultural institutions, and universities directly to your classroom. By National Endowment for the Humanities.

Access: Free
National Writing Project Webpage

Designed as a national writing project for teachers.

Access: Free
Purdue’s Online Writing Lab Webpage

Offers online handouts covering writing, research, grammar, and MLA and APA style.

Access: Free

Literature

Electronic Archives for Teaching the American Literatures Webpage

Contain essays, syllabi, bibliographies, and other resources for teaching the multiple literatures of the United States. By Georgetown University.

Access: Free
eServer Webpage

Co-op where writers, editors and scholars publish. By Iowa State University.

Access: Free
Literary Resources on the Net Webpage

Extensive directory of academic literary resources on the web. By Jack Lynch, Rutgers University.

Access: Free
Literature Webliography Webpage

Categories of sites include general guides, bibliographies, individual authors, library catalogs, dictionaries, discussions, periodicals, style guides, electronic texts, and individual authors. By Louisiana State University.

Access: Free
Voice of the Shuttle: Literature in English Webpage

Links to Literature in English for researchers and teachers, searchable by time periods, topics, and categories. By the University California, Santa Barbara

Access: Free

Marriage and Family Therapy

American Association of Marriage and Family Therapy Webpage

Advances professional interests of marriage and family therapists.

Access: Free
Marriage and Family Processes Webpage

Links to marriage and family resources of various types. By Trinity University.

Access: Free
Web Resources for Marriage and Family Therapy Webpage

By Syracuse University.

Access: Free

Mathematics Education

Math and Science Gateway Webpage

Provides links to resources in mathematics and science for educators and students in grades 9-12, although teachers of other levels may find these materials helpful. By By Cornell University. By Cornell University.

Access: Free
Math Forum Webpage

Considered to be the best resources for teaching math at all levels. This space is not only for teachers, but has also been built in part by teachers. By Drexel University.

Access: Free
Mathematics Virtual Library: Education Webpage

Links are categorized by subject. By Florida State University.

Access: Free
National Council of Teachers of Mathematics Webpage

Provides resources and professional development opportunities for math teachers.

Access: Free
PBS Teachers: Math Webpage

Resource list by grade range and topic.

Access: Free

Middle Schools

MiddleWeb Webpage

Provides a wealth of resources for schools, districts, educators, parents, and public school advocates working to raise achievement for all students in the middle grades.

Access: Free
National Center for Middle Level Leadership Webpage

Provides practical resources to help middle level leaders improve their schools; offers relevant, job-embedded professional development for new and experienced middle level leaders; and articulates the voice of middle level leaders. By the National Association of Secondary School Principals.

Access: Free
National Middle School Association Webpage

Dedicated to those in the middle grades.

Access: Free

Music Education

K-12 Resources for Music Educators Webpage

Valuable resources for music educators and students of all areas and educational levels.

Access: Free
MENC: National Association for Music Education Webpage

Provides a wide variety of information for music educators.

Access: Free
Music Education Online Webpage

Provides a wealth of online information for anyone interested in music education. By Children's Music Workshop.

Access: Free
Worldwide Internet Music Resources Webpage

Lists music links in broad categories. By Indiana University.

Access: Free

Other Resources

Education Virtual Library Webpage

Lists links alphabetically, resource provided, type of site, or country.

Access: Free
Education Week on the Web Webpage

Provides weekly education news.

Access: Free
Education World Webpage

Provides links to some of the best education web links.

Access: Free
Educator’s Reference Desk Webpage

Provides research guides, lesson plans, question archives, and searching GEM. By the University of Syracuse.

Access: Free
Florida Department of Education Webpage

Offers directories of schools and colleges by district and name along with press releases, publications, statistics, and employment opportunities. By Florida DOE.

Access: Free
GEM: Gateway to Educational Materials Webpage

Creates an operational framework to provide the nation's teachers with "one-stop, any-stop" access to substantial, but uncataloged, collections of Internet-based educational materials available on various federal, state, university, non-profit, and commercial Internet sites. GEM provides access to high quality Internet lesson plans, curriculum units and other education resources.

Access: Free
U.S. Department of Education Webpage

Reports policies on federal financial aid for education, collects and disseminates research, focuses national attention on key educational issues, and promotes equal access to education. By the DOE.

Access: Free
What Works Clearinghouse Brief Information Webpage

Collects, screens, and identifies studies of the effectiveness of educational interventions. By DOE.

Access: Free

Reading

ERIC Clearinghouse on Reading, English and Communication Webpage

Provides educational materials, services and coursework to those interested in the language arts. By Indiana University. By Indiana University.

Access: Free
International Reading Association Webpage

Includes web resources and Reading Online, hundreds of articles on reading education.

Access: Free
National Institute for Literacy Webpage

Develops tools and guidance to strengthen the teaching and learning of reading in adult education and literacy programs.

Access: Free
Proliteracy Worldwide Webpage

Laubach Literacy helps adults and their families acquire literacy practices and skills to improve their daily lives.

Access: Free
Reading Is Fundamental Webpage

Find advice, articles and booklists.

Access: Free

School Psychology

Global School Psychology Network Webpage

Serves as an innovative Internet community for school psychologists.

Access: Free
School Mental Health Project Webpage

Serves as a links "map" that provides quick access to relevant resources mental health in schools on the internet. By UCLA.

Access: Free
School Psychology Resources Online Webpage

Research learning disabilities, ADHD, functional behavioral assessment, autism, adolescence, parenting, psychological assessment, special education, mental retardation, mental health, and more.

Access: Free
WWW School Psychology Homepage Webpage

Provides today’s resources for tomorrow’s psychologists.

Access: Free

Science Education

Challenger Center for Space Science Education Webpage

Creates innovative learning experiences for young learners interested in space.

Access: Free
Cool Science for Curious Kids Webpage

Interactive biology site for curious kids.

Access: Free
Environmental Education Links Webpage

Links to programs and activities of particular interest to K-14 environmental education students and teachers. University of Arizona.

Access: Free
NASA Government Resources Webpage

International space station.

Access: Free
National Science Teachers Association Webpage

Focuses on the science teacher, web resources, and the teaching environment.

Access: Free
Science Education: Best Information on the Net Webpage

Arranged by high school and college resources and K-8 resources. By St. Ambrose University.

Access: Free
Science Fair Project Resource Guide Webpage

By the Internet Public Library.

Access: Free
Science Learning Network Webpage

Online community of educators, students, schools, science museums and other institutions demonstrating a new model for inquiry science education.

Access: Free
Scirus: For Scientific Information Only Webpage

Focuses only on Web pages containing scientific content.

Access: Free
Smithsonian: Science and Technology Webpage

Explore a topic by choosing a category.

Access: Free

Secondary Schools

National Association of Secondary School Principals Webpage

Information on middle and high school leadership.

Access: Free
National Center on Secondary Education and Transition Webpage

Coordinates national resources, offers technical assistance, and disseminates information related to secondary education and transition for youth with disabilities in order to create opportunities for youth to achieve successful futures.

Access: Free
Office of Elementary and Secondary Education (OESE) Webpage

Website provides useful and timely information to enhance their knowledge of elementary and secondary education programs.

Access: Free

Social Studies

Best of History Websites Webpage

Contains annotated links to over 1000 history web sites as well as links to hundreds of quality K-12 history lesson plans, history teacher guides, history activities, history games, history quizzes, and more.

Access: Free
History Net.com Webpage

Links for history, newsletter, book reviews.

Access: Free
Intute: Social Sciences Webpage

Provides access to the very best Web resources for education and research, evaluated and selected by a network of subject specialists in the social sciences.

Access: Free
Lesson Plans and Resources for Social Studies Teachers Webpage

Gathered lesson plans and resources from the Internet which social studies teachers will find useful. By California State University.

Access: Free
National Archives Webpage

Gateway for resources about primary sources, activities and training for educators and students. By the US Archives.

Access: Free
Social Studies Resources Webpage

Designed for K-12 social studies teachers and students. It also has information and topics that are useful to pre-service social studies instructors and students. By the University of Indiana.

Access: Free

Special Education

Council for Exceptional Children Webpage

Provides resources and professional development opportunities for those who work with exceptionalities.

Access: Free
LD Online Webpage

Information on learning disabilities and ADHD.

Access: Free
National Center for Learning Disabilities Webpage

Offers background information, fact sheets and helpful links to resources and organizations on a broad range of learning disability issues.

Access: Free
Science Education Gateway Webpage

Gateway to the wonders of astronomy and space science for students, educators and the public. By the University of California, Berkeley.

Access: Free
Special Education Resources on the Internet (SERI) Webpage

Provides collection of Internet accessible information resources of interest to those involved in the fields related to Special Education.

Access: Free
U.S. Office of Special Education and Rehabilitative Services Webpage

Dedicated to improving results for infants, toddlers, children and youth with disabilities ages birth through 21 by providing leadership and financial support to assist states and local districts. By the DOE.

Access: Free

Sports and Fitness

American College of Sports Medicine Webpage

Provides information and resources on certification and credentialing, professional education and conferences, grants and research initiatives, health and fitness information, news within the industry as well as links to regional chapters.

Access: Free
Biomechanics World Wide Webpage

Provides links to biomechanics societies, journals, orthopaedics, and other aspects of biomechanics.

Access: Free
Coaching, Physical Education on the Internet Webpage

Links for Coaching/Sports, General PE, Associations, Health/Nutrition, Sports medicine/Kinesiology, and Sports centers. By Texas A&M.

Access: Free
Exercise and Physical Fitness (NIH) Webpage

By National Library of Medicine, Medline Plus.

Access: Free
Food and Nutrition Information Center: Fitness and Sports Nutrition Webpage

USDA information center that provides information on fitness, sports, and sports nutrition and links to other web sites.

Access: Free
Human Kinetics Links Webpage

Maintains a collection of links to other good Web sites on sport and fitness topics as well as academic and professional subjects.

Access: Free
NSCA - National Strength and Conditioning Association Webpage

Supports and disseminates research-based knowledge and its practical application to improve athletic performance and fitness, offers free online training videos, free podcasts, and links to other websites.

Access: Free
PE Central Webpage

Premier Web site for health and physical education teachers, parents, and students. Our goal is to provide the latest information about developmentally appropriate physical education programs for children and youth.

Access: Free
Scholarly Sport Sites Webpage

Brings together the websites which will assist the serious sports researcher, kinesiology librarian, sport information specialist, college/university student and faculty. By the University of Calgary

Access: Free
Sport Information Resource Center (SIRC) Webpage

Provider of sports information and research.

Access: Free
SportQuest Webpage

Search the vast collection of sports related web links.

Access: Free
Sports Fitness Webpage

Links for the basics, nutrition, specific conditions, research, journal articles, directories, organizations, statistics and links for children, teenagers, and women as well. By the National Institute of Health, National Library of Medicine and Medline Plus.

Access: Free
Sports Medicine.com Webpage

Offers information on education, organizations and topics about sports medicine.

Access: Free
Visible Body Webpage

Features a 360 degree full body model for investigation of human anatomy and physiology. By Argosy University.

Access: Free
Women’s Sports Foundation Webpage

Focuses on sports issues that affect women.

Access: Free

Teaching and Pedagogy

Active Learning Practices for Schools Webpage

Provides tools, activities, research, forums, and more. By ALPS, Harvard Graduate School of Education.

Access: Free
Teacher Pathfinder Webpage

Set up as an internet education village.

Access: Free
TeacherNet Webpage

Provides discussion lists, bulletin boards, and links on a wide variety of subjects of interest to the elementary teacher.

Access: Free
Teachers Network Webpage

Identifies and connects innovative teachers exemplifying professionalism and creativity within public school systems.

Access: Free
Theory Into Practice Database Webpage

Intends to make learning and instructional theory more accessible to educators. The database contains brief summaries of 50 major theories of learning and instruction. These theories can also be accessed by learning domains and concepts.

Access: Free

Vocational Education

ACTE Online Journals Webpage

Provides lesson plans, research and resources on technical education and careers. By the Association for Career and Technical Education. By the ACTE.

Access: Free