Library Print Header Include
University of Central Florida Libraries
11/23/2009
http://library.ucf.edu/
UCF Website University of Central Florida Libraries
Log in now
Ask a Librarian Articles & Databases Online Journals Off-campus Access Interlibrary Loan

College of Medicine

This page lists the databases and journals purchased by the College of Medicine. Additional databases and journals relevant to medicine and health are available on the Medicine and the Online Journals pages, linked below.

Section Headings List

Books- Books. Brief Information- Brief Information. Citations or Abstracts- Citations or Abstracts. Data- Data. Full Text- Full Text. Images- Images. Journals- Journals.

Complementary Medicine

a unique database produced by the Health Care Information Service of the British Library ; covers a selection of journals in complementary medicine, palliative care and several professions allied to medicine

Access: Proxy Vendor: Ovid

a primary health care database which emphasizes health promotion, prevention and conservative care ; emphasis on medical, osteopathic, physical therapy, chiropractic and other disciplines ; methods of conservative management such as acupuncture, biofeedback, exercise therapy, joint manipulation and physical therapy are extensively reviewed

Access: Proxy Vendor: Ovid

Drugs & Pharmaceuticals

an online curricular resource designed to meet the changing demands of pharmacy education ; includes core curriculum topics, ability to browse by organ systems, textbooks, drug monograph, lab tests, calculators, self-assessment and case studies

Access: Proxy Vendor: McGraw-Hill

Includes over 3,300+ brand and generic prescription drugs, prescribing information, pill pictures, pill identifier, 600+ alternative medicines, drug-herbal interaction tool and more

Access: Proxy Vendor: Epocrates

Drug information and references including Drug Facts and Comparisons®, Drug Interaction Facts™, MedFacts patient information in English and Spanish, Review of Natural Products, A to Z Drug Facts™, Nonprescription Drug Therapy™, Off-Label Drug Facts, and Drug Identifier. Also includes, clinical calculators, warnings, codes and indexes, and medication guides.

Access: Proxy Vendor: WoltersKluwer

Provides unbiased prescribing recommendations featuring new drugs and devices.

Access: Proxy Vendor: The Medical Letter

Provides unbiased prescribing recommendations featuring drug treatment of major indications, recommendations for first-choice and alternative drugs, and comparative assessment of drug effectiveness, safety and cost

Access: Proxy Vendor: The Medical Letter

Evidence Based Medicine & Diagnostic Tools

provides instant answers to clinical questions from the most trusted resources ; includes clinical case files, self-assessment questions, and textbooks such as Harrison’s Online, Hurst’s The Heart, Principles of Critical Care and the Lange series.

Access: Proxy Vendor: McGraw-Hill

An international compendium of the best available research and evidence on the treatment of various medical conditions. BMJ Clinical Evidence remains the gold standard in evidence-based synopses on the effectiveness of common clinical interventions. It is used by over 1 million clinicians worldwide , including 500,000 physicians in the U.S.

Access: Proxy Vendor: BMJ

Provides evidence based clinical information on more than 3,000 topics for use at the point-of-care ; includes ICD-9 Codes and levels of evidence

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost

The largest and most current Clinical Knowledge Base available to physicians and other healthcare professionals. Nearly 10,000 physician authors and editors contribute to the eMedicine Clinical Knowledge Base, which contains articles on 7,000 diseases and disorders. The evidence-based content, updated regularly, provides the latest practice guidelines in 59 medical specialties. eMedicine's professional content undergoes 4 levels of physician peer review plus an additional review by a PharmD prior to publication.

Access: Proxy Vendor: eMedicine

a readily updated collection of seven Evidence Based Medicine Reviews databases ; includes ACP Journal Club, Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, Cochrane Database of Systemic Reviews, Cochrane Methodology Register, Database of Abstracts of Review of Effects, Health Technology Assessment and National Health Service Economic Evaluation

Access: Proxy Vendor: OVID

provides fundamental tools for understanding and applying the medical literature and making clinical diagnoses ; includes the Users' Guide to the Medical Literature and The Rational Clinical Examination (access limited to 4 concurrent users)

Access: Proxy Vendor: McGraw-Hill

Full text of over 50 medical reference book, over 80 journals and Clinics of North America. Also includes peer-reviewed practice guidelines, patient handouts which you can customize, and drug information is provided by Gold Standard.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Elsevier

Images

A collection of medical images.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Images.MD

Medicine

MEDLINE - Ovid 1948-Current Citations or Abstracts

Includes:

  • Medline
  • In-Process Medline
  • Old Medline

Access: Proxy Vendor: Ovid
MEDLINE - PubMed 1966-Current Citations or Abstracts

Contains citations and abstracts from over 3700 journals in the medical and dental literature.

Access: Free Vendor: Pubmed

Full text of medical and nursing journals, books and Medline.

Access: Proxy Vendor: OVID

Full text medical journals.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Thieme

Online access to the FLEXIBOOK Atlases and Textbooks, the popular series of color atlases and pocket textbooks in anatomy, basic science, clinical science, and radiology.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Thieme

 

Last Updated May 08, 2009