University of Central Florida Libraries 8/29/2008 http://library.ucf.edu/
Pegasus Logo
University Of Central Florida Libraries
Need help? Ask a Librarian Articles & Databases Online Journals Off-campus Access Interlibrary Loan
UCF Home UCF Home UCF Home

Catalog Search

Search

Website Search


Libraries UCF Web
Site Index

Chemisty

Section Headings List

Citations or Abstracts- Citations or Abstracts. Full Text- Full Text. Journals- Journals. Webpage- Webpage.

*Best Resources

American Chemical Society Full Text Journals

ACS Publications provides searchable access to over 130 years of original research in chemistry, including more than 750,000 articles contained in 3 million plus pages of chemistry findings, dating back to the introduction of the Journal of the American Chemical Society in 1879.

Access: Proxy Vendor: ACS
MEDLINE - EBSCOhost 1966-Current Citations or Abstracts Full Text

Subject content includes anatomy; communication disorders; microbiology; paramedical professions; pathology; physiology; psychiatry; toxicology; dentistry; parasitology; reproductive biology; epidemiology; gene therapy; surgical and pharmaceutical intervention; nursing practice; ethical and legal issues; institutional operations; laboratory techniques and procedures; diagnosis and management; clinical research trials and experimental treatment protocols; legislation and regulation; allied health specialties; continuing education; investigational drugs and new drug uses, and some veterinary medicine.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost
SciFinder Scholar (Chemical Abstracts) 1907- Citations or Abstracts

Chemical information: bibliographic, compound and reaction information. Accessed via a Mac or Windows client (SciFinder Scholar) which can be downloaded to any campus workstation. The database can only be accessed from University-originating network addresses.

Access: Proxy Vendor: CAS
Web of Science 1965-current Citations or Abstracts

Citation Indexes for finding articles that cite a given author or citation.

New Search Interface.

Science Citation Index Expanded (1965-present)

Social Sciences Citation Index (1965-present)

* Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present)

Access: Proxy Vendor: ISI

Other Resources

Biological Sciences 1982-Current Citations or Abstracts Journals

Database offers abstracts and citations to a wide range of research in biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology and ecology, and some aspects of agriculture and veterinary science.

Access: Proxy Vendor: CSA
Compendex (also known as Engineering Index , Ei Compendex , ei village , engineering village) 1884- Citations or Abstracts

Indexing for the broad subject areas of engineering and applied science.

Coverage includes nuclear technology, bioengineering, transportation, chemical and process engineering, light and optical technology, agricultural engineering and food technology, computers and data processing, applied physics, electronics and communications, control, civil, mechanical, materials, petroleum, aerospace and automotive engineering as well as narrower subtopics within all these and other major engineering fields.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Ei
INSPEC 2000-Current Citations or Abstracts

Indexes scientific and technical literature, especially physics.

Also covers electrical engineering, electronics, communications, control engineering, computers and computing, and information technology.
Also Known as: Physics Abstracts , Computer and Control Abstracts , Electrical and Electronics Abstracts.

Access: Proxy Vendor: FCLA
MathSciNet (Also Known as: Mathematical Reviews , Current Mathematical Publications , MR , CMP , mathsci net) Citations or Abstracts

MathSciNet covers all aspects of mathematics and provides access to over 55 years of Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications. Resources in all languages are represented.

Access: Proxy Vendor: AMS
NLM Gateway Webpage

A unique Web-based system that provides simultaneous searching of multiple databases and resource types located at the National Library of Medicine. Individual searches can yield journal citations, books, serials, audio-visual material, consumer health information including drug information and meeting abstracts. The databases being searched simultaneously are: MEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE, LOCATORplus, MEDLINEplus, DIRLINE, AIDS Meetings, HSR Meetings and HSR Projects. As this tool continues to be developed more databases will be added. NLM Gateway is designed to replace Internet GratefulMed (IGM). The unique databases found at IGM are in the process of being transfered over. They include: AIDSLINE, BIOETHICSLINE, HEALTHSTAR, HISTLINE, POPLINE and SPACELINE. This process should be completed in the Fall 2001.

Access: Free
OpenDOAR - The Directory of Open Access Repositories Webpage

The OpenDOAR service is being developed to support the rapidly emerging movement towards Open Access to research information. OpenDOAR is building a comprehensive and authoritative list of international institutional and subject-based repositories, as well as archives set up by funding agencies - like the National Institutes for Health in the USA or the Wellcome Trust in the UK and Europe. Users of the service are able to analyse repositories by location, type, the material they hold and other measures. This can be of use both to users wishing to find original research papers and for third-party "service providers", like search engines or alert services, which need easy to use tools for developing tailored search services to suit specific user communities.

Access: Free

 

Last Updated April 17, 2008