University of Central Florida Libraries
5/21/2013
http://library.ucf.edu/
UCF Website University of Central Florida Libraries
Log in now

Chemistry

Sections

Icon Key

  • Citations or Abstracts Citations or Abstracts.
  • Full Text Full Text.
  • Journals Journals.
  • Webpage Webpage.

*Best Resources

ACS Publications provides searchable access to over 130 years of original research in chemistry, including more than 750,000 articles contained in 3 million plus pages of chemistry findings, dating back to the introduction of the Journal of the American Chemical Society in 1879.

Access: Proxy Vendor: ACS
MEDLINE - EBSCOhost 1966-Current Citations or Abstracts Full Text

MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine with the capability to search citations from over 5,400 current biomedical journals.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost

Indexing of journal literature and patents in chemistry, biochemistry, chemical engineering and related sciences. First time users must Register for Scifinder Scholar Web access. For more information, including links to the SciFinder Web Client,

Access: Proxy Vendor: CAS
Web of Science 1965-current Citations or Abstracts

Citation Indexes for finding articles that cite a given author or citation.

  • Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present)
  • Science Citation Index Expanded (1965-present)
  • Social Sciences Citation Index (1965-present)

Access: Proxy Vendor: ISI

Other Resources

Biological Sciences 1971-Current Citations or Abstracts Journals

Database offers abstracts and citations to a wide range of research in biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology and ecology, and some aspects of agriculture and veterinary science.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Proquest
INSPEC on Ei Village 1969-Current Citations or Abstracts

The database contains over 11 million records from scientific and technical journals and conference proceedings covering electrical engineering, electronics, physics, control engineering, information technology, communications, computers, computing, and manufacturing and production engineering. Simultaneously earches Compendex by default.

Also Known as: Physics Abstracts , Computer and Control Abstracts , Electrical and Electronics Abstracts.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Ei Village

MathSciNet covers all aspects of mathematics and provides access to over 55 years of Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications. Resources in all languages are represented.

Access: Proxy Vendor: AMS

A unique Web-based system that provides simultaneous searching of multiple databases and resource types located at the National Library of Medicine. Individual searches can yield journal citations, books, serials, audio-visual material, consumer health information including drug information and meeting abstracts. The databases being searched simultaneously are: MEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE, LOCATORplus, MEDLINEplus, DIRLINE, AIDS Meetings, HSR Meetings and HSR Projects. As this tool continues to be developed more databases will be added. NLM Gateway is designed to replace Internet GratefulMed (IGM). The unique databases found at IGM are in the process of being transfered over. They include: AIDSLINE, BIOETHICSLINE, HEALTHSTAR, HISTLINE, POPLINE and SPACELINE. This process should be completed in the Fall 2001.

Access: Free

The OpenDOAR service is being developed to support the rapidly emerging movement towards Open Access to research information. OpenDOAR is building a comprehensive and authoritative list of international institutional and subject-based repositories, as well as archives set up by funding agencies - like the National Institutes for Health in the USA or the Wellcome Trust in the UK and Europe. Users of the service are able to analyse repositories by location, type, the material they hold and other measures. This can be of use both to users wishing to find original research papers and for third-party "service providers", like search engines or alert services, which need easy to use tools for developing tailored search services to suit specific user communities.

Access: Free

 

Last Updated July 31, 2012

QR Code URL for Mobile Devices