University of Central Florida Libraries
4/23/2014
http://library.ucf.edu/
UCF Website University of Central Florida Libraries
Log in now

Business

Sections

Icon Key

  • Books Books.
  • Brief Information Brief Information.
  • Citations or Abstracts Citations or Abstracts.
  • Data Data.
  • Full Text Full Text.
  • Government Resources Government Resources.
  • Journals Journals.
  • Top-pick Top-pick.

This is a list of some of the basic databases to find resources for your subject. For a more extensive guide to doing Business Research please see one of the following Guides: U.S. Public Corporation Information, Industries Research Guide, or the International Business Research Guide

Articles

Top-pick ABI/INFORM Complete 1971-Current Full Text Journals Top-pick

Business, Management and trade - scholarly and trade journal articles, dissertations, market reports, industry reports, business news.

Access: Proxy Vendor: ProQuest

Wilson Business Full Text is a full text database that indexes and abstracts articles from English-language periodicals published in the United States and elsewhere, including the leading business magazines and trade and research journals, plus the full text of selected periodicals. Previous vendor was Wilson

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost

Citations to articles in business and related fields.

Covers management, economics, finance, banking, investment, and related fields. Full text included for nearly 260 journals.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost

Analyze company performance and activity, industry events and trends as well as the latest in management, economics and politics.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Gale/FEL

Indexes journals in human resources, including human resource management, employee assistance, and organizational behavior.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost

Company/Industry Research

Company profiles, brief financials, history, competitors, and more.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Mergent

A collection of Industry Market Research. All users must register for a personal account to access IBISworld.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Ibis

Company Dossier is part of LexisNexis Academic business information solutions including: legal, corporate, government, law enforcement, tax, accounting, academic, and risk and compliance assessment.

Access: Proxy Vendor: LexisNexis
Mergent Archives 1909-Current Citations or Abstracts Full Text

The Archives is the digitized Moody’s Manuals, including Bank & Finance, Industrial, International, OTC, Public Utility, Transportation, and Municipal Manuals.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Mergent

Company investment and financial information including annual, industry and equity reports as well as general contact information for each domestic and international company in the database.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Mergent

Mergent Online provides current business and industry financial information, including SEC filings, Executive Biographies, Ratios, and a rich report builder.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Mergent
Access: Proxy Vendor: Mintel

See S&P NetAdvantage.

Access: Proxy Vendor: S&P

Business information focusing on facts, figures, events and market information about companies, industries, products and markets.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Gale

Canceled due to budget cuts.

Access: CANCELED Vendor: InformationUSA
Access: Proxy Vendor: Value Line

E-Books

Full text ebooks covering specific areas of business, including supply and operations management, international business, social media, finance, accounting, public relations, and marketing strategy.

Access: Proxy Vendor: ebrary

Marketing Data

Industry financial ratios and market statistics for US and local regions. Bizminer is provided to all UCF student to help them better assess the viability of their entrepreneurial ideas and innovations. It is funded by the College of Business Administration.

Access: Proxy Vendor: BizMiner

Company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies, and periodicals articles covering company and industry news. "Formerly Business and Company Resource Center"

Access: Proxy Vendor: Gale

Some MarketLine reports are available in Business Source Premier.
Select the "Enhanced Business Searching Interface" and browse or search the Industry Profiles.
MarketLine offers a collection of company, industry, financial, product and country information, research and data extending across every major marketplace and industry.

Formerly called Datamonitor 360. (Formerly: MarketLine Business Information Center, MBIC and Datamonitor 360)

Access: Proxy Vendor: Datamonitor

Statistics, market research, and publications on sports business, sales, and participation.

Access: Proxy Vendor: SBR

Newspapers

Full text of news and legal sources, as well as company and industry data. See the LexisNexis Academic Research Guide for tips and information.

Limited coverage of business and health administration news. Sources include newspapers, wire services, magazines, SEC filings, law cases, state and federal codes, law review journals, and reference works.

Access: Proxy Vendor: LexisNexis

Orlando-area business news and the Orlando Book of List and access to other regional publications from Bizjournals.
Provided by UCF's SGA, SDES, COB, and Career Services in partnership with the Orlando Business Journal.

Access: Purchased by students. Vendor: Bizjournals
Wall Street Journal 1984-Current Full Text

Financial newspaper of record offering in-depth coverage of national and international finance.

Access: Proxy Vendor: ProQuest

Statistics

Indexes statistical publications and some full text. Previous title Lexis Statistical insights

Includes:

  • Statistical Abstract of the United States.
  • American Statistics Index (ASI) 1974-
  • Statistical Reference Index (SRI) 1980-
  • Index to International Statistics (IIS) 1983-

The UCF Library has the full text of some ASI, SRI, and IIS reports in print or microfiche. Tips for Searching.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Proquest

Mapping application that enables users to develop interactive thematic maps and reports using thousands of demographic, business, and marketing data variables.

Create a SimplyMap account if you wish to save your work access other user account features, or click "Create Temporary Account" to use the service without registering.
NOTE: Some data in "Health Care" module may be inaccurate. Please verify with other sources. more info
5 Concurrent users.

Access: Proxy Vendor: GeographicResearch

Interactive demographic maps, historical census data for the United States from 1790 to present. 'Allows 3 concurrent users form UCF at a time.'

Access: Proxy Vendor: OUP

 

Last Updated February 05, 2014

QR Code URL for Mobile Devices