University of Central Florida Libraries 9/6/2008 http://library.ucf.edu/
Pegasus Logo
University Of Central Florida Libraries
Need help? Ask a Librarian Articles & Databases Online Journals Off-campus Access Interlibrary Loan
UCF Home UCF Home UCF Home

Catalog Search

Search

Website Search


Libraries UCF Web
Site Index

Business

This is a list of some of the basic databases to find resources for your subject. For a more extensive guide to doing Business Research please see one of the following Guides: U.S. Public Corporation Information, Industries Research Guide, International Business Research Guide or the Business Research Tutorial

Section Headings List

See also: Accounting | Economics | Hospitality

Brief Information- Brief Information. Citations or Abstracts- Citations or Abstracts. Data- Data. Full Text- Full Text. Government Resources- Government Resources. Images- Images. Journals- Journals. Top-pick- Top-pick.

Articles

Top-pick ABI/INFORM Archive, Dateline, Global, Trade & Industry Citations or Abstracts Full Text Journals

Articles on business-related disciplines and over 60,000 companies.

Covers advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, and computers. Includes business conditions, trends, corporate strategies and tactics, management techniques, competitive and product information, company histories and new product development.

Access: Proxy Vendor: ProQuest
Business Full Text 1981-Current Citations or Abstracts Full Text

Index to 345 English language business magazines.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Wilson
Top-pick Business Source Premier Citations or Abstracts Full Text

Citations to articles in business and related fields.

Covers management, economics, finance, banking, investment, and related fields. Full text included for nearly 260 journals.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCO
General BusinessFile ASAP 1980-Current Citations or Abstracts Full Text

Analyze company performance and activity, industry events and trends as well as the latest in management, economics and politics.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Gale
Top-pick LexisNexis Academic Citations or Abstracts Full Text Journals

Full text of news and legal sources, as well as company and industry data. LexisNexis Academic Research Guide

Limited coverage of business and health administration news. Sources include newspapers, wire services, magazines, SEC filings, law cases, state and federal codes, law review journals, and reference works.

Access: Proxy Vendor: LexisNexis
Management & Organization Studies: A SAGE Full-Text Collection Citations or Abstracts Full Text Journals

covers such subjects as: Business & Management, Organizations Studies, Management, Strategic Management and Business Policy, Human Resource Management, Human Resource Development, , Marketing, Analytical Marketing, Sociology, Sociology of Work, Public Policy and Public Administration, Hospitality, Travel and Tourism Management, Labor Economics, Industrial Relations, Small Business/Entrepreneurship, Organizational Communication and Interpersonal Communication.

Access: Proxy Vendor: CSA
Wall Street Journal 1985-Current Full Text

Financial newspaper of record offering in-depth coverage of national and international finance.

Access: Proxy Vendor: ProQuest

Company/Industry Research

Business & Industry Citations or Abstracts Full Text

Business information focusing on facts, figures, events and market information about companies, industries, products and markets.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Gale
Hoover's Online Full Text
Access: Proxy Vendor: Hoovers
IbisWorld - Industry Market Research Data

A collection of Industry Market Research.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Ibis
Investext Plus 1996-Current Citations or Abstracts Full Text Images

Search this database to find investment, company and industry reports from over 500 brokers in North America, Europe, Asia/Pacific, Latin America, Africa and the Middle East.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Gale
LexisNexis Company Dossier Data

Company Dossier is part of LexisNexis Academic business information solutions including: legal, corporate, government, law enforcement, tax, accounting, academic, and risk and compliance assessment.

Access: Proxy Vendor: LexisNexis
MarketLine Business Information Center (MBIC) Current- Data

International market research covering: automotive; consumer; energy; financial services; health care and technology.

Access: Proxy Vendor: R4L
Mintel Current Data
Access: Proxy Vendor: Mintel
NetAdvantage Full Text

Database for searching information on stocks, companies and mutural funds.

Access: Proxy Vendor: S&P
Reference USA Full Text

Business and residential telephone and address directories for the United States of America and Canada.

Access: Proxy Vendor: InformationUSA
ValueLine Research Center Full Text
Access: Proxy Vendor: Value Line

Marketing Data

Top-pick Business & Company Resource Center 1980-Current Citations or Abstracts Full Text

A collection of company and industry information, including articles, reports, finacials, and more.

Company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies, and periodicals articles covering company and industry news.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Gale
Business Insights Data

Market research and business reports covering consumer goods, energy, finance, healthcare, and technology industries.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Business Insights
MarketLine Business Information Center (MBIC) Current- Data

International market research covering: automotive; consumer; energy; financial services; health care and technology.

Access: Proxy Vendor: R4L
SBRnet: Sports Business Research Network Current- Data

Statistics, market research, and publications on sports business, sales, and participation.

Access: Proxy Vendor: SBR

Statistics

LexisNexis Statistical Brief Information Data Government Resources

Indexes statistical publications and some full text.

Includes:

  • Statistical Abstract of the United States.
  • American Statistics Index (ASI) 1974-
  • Statistical Reference Index (SRI) 1980-
  • Index to International Statistics (IIS) 1983-

The UCF Library has the full text of some ASI, SRI, and IIS reports in print or microfiche. Tips for Searching.

Access: Proxy Vendor: LexisNexis
National Trade Data Bank in STAT-USA Full Text

is a single point of access to authoritative business, trade, and economic information from across the Federal Government.

Access: Proxy Vendor: DoC
STAT-USA Data Government Resources

Statistics on the U.S. economy and international trade. Off-campus access canceled due to budget cuts. Password access available in the Main Library Reference area. Ask at the Reference Desk for assistance.

Access: Password Only Vendor: DoC
Tablebase Data

Tabular information of a strategic nature drawn from the Business & Industry database.

he tables provide information such as: market share, market size, capacity, production, imports, exports, sales, product and brand rankings, forecasts, healthcare statistics and demographics, originating from statistical annuals, brokerage reports, trade association reports, and governmental reports.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Gale

 

Last Updated August 18, 2008