University of Central Florida Libraries
10/25/2014
http://library.ucf.edu/
UCF Website University of Central Florida Libraries
Login now

Book Reviews, Librarianship, Publications

Sections

Icon Key

  • Books Books.
  • Citations or Abstracts Citations or Abstracts.
  • Full Text Full Text.
  • Images Images.
  • Top-pick Top-pick.
  • Webpage Webpage.

This is a list of some of the basic databases to find resources for your subject. For a more extensive guide to doing Book Review research please see the Book Review Research Guide

Book Reviews

Many subject indexes cover book reviews. Ask a librarian for assistance.

Book Review Digest Plus now has select full text expanding its scope with entries drawn from over 8,000 periodicals covered by other Wilson databases. With coverage back to 1983, Book Review Digest Plus indexes reviews of current fiction and non-fiction reviews. Previous vendor Wilson.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost

Librarianship

provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracting of over 400 journals, including key library and information science periodicals, and full-text coverage of over 170 journals. . Coverage reaches as far back as 1980. Previous vendor was Wilson.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost

Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost

Other Resources

Books in Print/Out of Print

No longer available due to FLVC cuts.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Bowker
Credo Reference - CEASED

Canceled August 2014 due to Library materials budget shortfall.

Access: CANCELED

Full text eBooks selected by UCF faculty, students, and librarians.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBL

A collection of over 55,000 books in full text, including both current and classic works.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost
Education Full Text 1983-Current Citations or Abstracts Full Text

Education Full Text brings you comprehensive coverage of an international range of English-language periodicals, monographs and yearbooks. With full text of articles, with indexing cover to cover, from hundreds of journals coverage includes about 79 journals (37 with full text) not covered by ERICs CIJE. Previous vendor was Wilson.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost
Evans Digital 1639-1800 Full Text

Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800 consists of more than 37,000 books, pamphlets and broadsides.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Newsbank

Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Gale/FEL

Full text of a small collection of scholarly books in history and social studies.

Gutenberg-e has traditional narrative with digitized primary sources, including maps, photographs, and oral histories.

Access: Free Vendor: Columbia U

Information on literary figures from all time periods of writing in such genres as fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, journalism, and more. Includes the Dictionary Of Literary Biography.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Gale

In Academic Universe, click Sources in the menu near the top of the screen and enter New York Times.

Access: Proxy Vendor: CIS/LexisNexis

Full text of New York times and 4 other national newspapers: Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, and Christian Science Monitor.

Access: Proxy Vendor: ProQuest

Complete text and images of the New York Times.

Access: Proxy Vendor: ProQuest

Prices, frequency of publication, addresses, phone and fax numbers, e-mail and Web addresses for journals, magazines, newspapers, and other periodicals worldwide. Indicates available formats, intended audience, special features and indexing/abstracting services coverage. Formerly named Ulrich's International Periodicals Directory

Access: Proxy Vendor: Bowker

Full text of Pre-Victorian early modern women's writing.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Brown U

 

Last Updated September 10, 2014

QR Code URL for Mobile Devices