University of Central Florida Libraries
8/1/2014
http://library.ucf.edu/
UCF Website University of Central Florida Libraries
Log in now

Problems with Get Full Text

Sometimes Get Full Text will not immediately bring you to the full text of an article. Common problems are explained below.

I am asked to log in. What should I do?

If you use Get Full Text from off-campus you may be asked to enter your library ID and password. The Library is required to ensure that only UCF students and employees can access the journals and articles we pay for. Anyone using the articles from off campus must enter their Library ID to show their association with UCF. See the Off Campus Access page for information about the library ID and password.

If you see any login besides the request for your Library ID, please contact the SFX administrator.

Get Full Text brought up a search screen instead of full text.

Sometimes it is not possible to link directly to the full text of an article. In those cases, of the Get Full Text menu may link to the table of contents or to a search screen for a journal or database. Enter a search by the article title or browse by year, volume, issue and page number to find the article.

The Get Full Text menu didn't link to any full text sources.

If there are now links to full text, use the UCF Catalog link to see if the Libraries has the print edition of the journal. If the Library does not own the item you need, you may request the article from the Interlibrary Loan.

I get a screen telling me the item is not found.

Occasionally the Get Full Text menu will have links as though full text is available, but the link goes to a page that says the full text is not available. There may be a problem with the article citation, such as an incorrect year or article title. Try searching the publisher's site for the item by author or title.

In some cases, the article is not available from the full text site at all. Try every full text source in the Get Full Text menu. If none work you can report the problem to the SFX administrator, and check the catalog for print.

When I click the full text link I see an error about host name. What should I do?

The host name needs to be entered into the configuration file. Please send a report to the EZproxy administrator and copy the text of the error message into the email.

SFX FAQ

Last updated October 03, 2011 11:12:31 AM

QR Code URL for Mobile Devices